How To View a Private TikTok Account or Profile

Millions of people use TikTok every day. This is one of the most famous social media platforms in the world. But, like any social media out there, it can be risky. Social media has its ups and downs. The good thing is, you can share your content with the world. 


Social Media

You can meet thousands, if not millions of new friends, you can see new content every second, and never get bored of it. TikTok offers multiple features. Each has its own unique charm to it. You can edit your videos, download, edit, or share them. You can do a lot with these videos. You can even show your creative side. 

But, the bad thing is, a lot of people are not always friendly. Online bullying is very common. There will be those who leave bad or insulting comments. Or others that download your videos to share them for other purposes without your consent. 

That is why many people set their accounts to private. If you want to check out someone’s private account, you have to do some things first. But, if you want to make your account private to avoid all that unnecessary online drama, there are other things you should do. 

If you are new to TikTok and are still learning the ropes, don’t worry! We will guide you every step of the way. That’s why we have prepared the ultimate guide for viewing a private account and how to make your account private. Keep reading to find out more.

How to View a Private TikTok Account?

Many people set their accounts to private. Mainly for safety reasons. The truth about TikTok private accounts is that you can’t see the account unless you are already a follower. The only thing you can do is message the person who you want to visit. 

Contact them and ask them to add you to their list. Be kind, and that person will give you access to their private account. 

How to Make Your Account Private?

If you want to control who sees and comments on your videos, you can make your account private. If you enable this option, your current followers won’t be affected by it. But, the rest of the people won’t be able to see your content unless you allow them to. 

If you change your mind, you can always disable the “Private Account” option. We’ve prepared this step-by-step guide for you to help you toggle this option. 

Step 1

Go to your profile. Toggle the “…” menu or the “Settings” menu. 

Step 2

Tap on the second option, “Privacy and Safety.”

Step 3

Now a new window will pop up. This is the Privacy menu where you can manage who sees your account, who comments on your videos and who leaves a like. To make your account private, toggle the “Private Account” option. This is the first option on the top. If you change your mind, you can always disable it the same way you activated it. See the screenshot below. 

That’s it! Now you know how to make your account private and how to view private accounts. 

Conclusion

Because of how popular TikTok is, many people want to keep their account safe. That’s why they toggle the “Private Account” option. It makes a huge difference in such a mainstream platform. We made this guide for newcomers to learn the ropes. It is easy to follow. Hopefully, this guide was helpful, and you learned a thing or two about TikTok accounts.