How To Turn off Bumble Subscription Autorenewal

If you have found love online, can you turn off Bumble subscription autorenewal? Can you stop paying for the app if you have had enough, want to move on or found a relationship elsewhere? Yes you can and this tutorial will show you how.


Social Media

By its own admission, Bumble only wants you to use the dating app for a little while before uninstalling it. The app wants you to find a real, meaningful relationship using the app. While that may not be the best idea for making money long term, it shows a different intent to most other dating apps on the market. Tinder and others may be content to keep you on the dating treadmill but Bumble wants you to have more.

Like most dating apps, Bumble has a free version and a premium subscription called Bumble Boost. Subscriptions give you more features that can improve the experience or make it easier to find love. If you have found a relationship or want a break for a while, cancelling this subscription makes perfect sense as you don’t want to be paying for a service you’re not using.

Stopping the subscription does not cancel or delete your account. Your Bumble account will revert back to the free version once the subscribed period is over. If you found ‘the one’ and want to delete your account, that is something else entirely.

Stop your Bumble subscription

To stop your Bumble subscription, you will need to use the method you chose when signing up. You can pay by credit card, through the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store. Canceling will require you to stop payments through whatever channel you use.

Stop your Bumble credit card subscription

If you pay for Bumble Boost using your credit card, this is the method you’ll need to use to stop it.

  1. Open Bumble on your phone.
  2. Select the menu icon from within the app and select Bumble Boost under your profile image.
  3. Select Manage Your Subscription from the new page.
  4. Select to cancel from the options on the next page.
  5. Confirm cancelation when prompted.

Stop your Bumble subscription using Apple App Store

If you subscribed to Bumble Boost through the App Store, you’ll have to cancel it from there.

  1. Select Settings on your iPhone or iPad and open the App Store.
  2. Select your Apple ID at the top of the store.
  3. Log into the App Store if prompted.
  4. Select Subscriptions and select Bumble.
  5. Select Cancel Subscription from the options.
  6. Confirm when prompted.

This should stop any further payments through the Apple App Store.

Stop your Bumble subscription through the Google Play Store

Android users have the same option to cancel through the app store as Apple users. This time you use the Google Play Store instead. Otherwise the process is very similar.

  1. Open Google Play store on your device.
  2. Select Account from the menu and Subscriptions from the side menu.
  3. Select Bumble in the center pane and Cancel.
  4. Confirm cancelation and you’re done.

Whatever methods you use to turn off Bumble subscription autorenewal, you will retain access for the remainder of the paid period and your account will then revert to a free account. It will not be deleted. Bear this in mind if you have found someone and want to commit to them as your profile may still be visible!

Delete or snooze your Bumble account

If you’re definitely done with Bumble or have found someone and don’t want to be seen to still be on a dating app, now is a good time to delete your account. It does mean you’ll have to create a new one if the relationship doesn’t last but you will have 30 days to change your mind.

As still being visible on dating apps is a huge deal in new relationships, this is a key step if you want to make it work. Here’s how:

  1. Open Bumble on your device and select Settings.
  2. Scroll down to Delete Account and select it.
  3. Confirm your choice and give a reason if you want.
  4. Select Delete once more to confirm.

Snooze your Bumble account

Snoozing is a new feature of Bumble that lets you temporarily hide your account. This is ideal for new relationships or for taking a break from dating apps.

  1. Open Bumble on your device and select Settings.
  2. Select Snooze Mode instead of Delete Account.
  3. Select a time period that suits.
  4. Set a reason or select No Thanks.

Your profile will now disappear from the app and you will no longer appear in search. You will still be visible to any contacts you made on Bumble though. Your status will be ‘Away’. Bear this in mind as well if you have mutual friends on the app!