How To Unlock Switch Skills In Monster Hunter Rise

Getting tired of the weapons in Monster Hunter Rise? Do you feel like your combos could use more style points? Are you looking to switch things up? Then you came to the right place. In this guide, we’ll show you how you can unlock all the Switch Skills in Monster Hunter Rise.


What are Switch Skills?

Switch Skills are a cool new feature introduced in Monster Hunter Rise that allows you to change your Hunter’s Silkbind Attacks and Regular Attacks. The Monster Hunter games are known for giving players a lot of freedom in terms of character customization, so having Switch Skills gives you a lot more options on how you want to play the game. It invites you to get creative and experiment with several combos and move sets, virtually making each of your hunts different from the others. 

All 16 weapons in Monster Hunter Rise each have 6 different Switch Skills. Think of them as a newer and better version of the Hunting Styles from Monster Hunter Generations. Each Switch Skill modifies a specific mechanic on a weapon and adds new buffs or combos that enhance your gameplay. It’s a great way to keep the game feeling fresh while making you look stylish as you hunt monsters. So how exactly do you get all the Switch Skills?

How to Unlock Switch Skills?

There are three sets of Switch Skills per weapon in Monster Hunter Rise and all of them have different effects. Unlocking all the Switch Skills won’t be that hard, though it would take a bit of work. But boy, is it worth it. 

First Switch Skills

To unlock the first set of Switch Skills, you need to reach the 3-star quests in the Village or the 2-star quests in the Hub. Afterward, speak with Master Utsushi and it will be unlocked for all the weapons. 

You can find Master Utsushi at the Gathering Hub.

Second Switch Skills

To unlock the second set of Switch Skills, you need to craft or upgrade 8 unique weapons of that class. Keep in mind that you won’t unlock this if you just crafted the same weapon 8 times. You need to do this per weapon type to get the second set of Switch Skills. Just head over to the Smithy and see which weapons you want to upgrade.

Third Switch Skills

Now here’s where it gets a little tricky. To start unlocking the third set of Switch Skills, you need to be at Hunter Rank 4. This will unlock a batch of quests that you need to complete before you get the third set of Switch Skills on each weapon. 

First batch

  • Sword and Shield
  • Hunting Horn
  • Switch Axe
  • Light Bowgun

Second Batch

  • Great Sword
  • Hammer
  • Lance
  • Charge Blade
  • Heavy Bowgun

Third Batch

  • Long Sword
  • Dual Blades
  • Gunlance
  • Insect Glaive
  • Bow

Once you complete each quest, you can speak with Master Utsushi and the final set of Switch Skills would be unlocked on each weapon. These are the best Switch Skills in the game and can give your weapons a massive boost in power when you use them.

These Switch Skills will be unlocked even if you don’t use the weapon indicated on the quest. So don’t worry if you’re uncomfortable using some of these weapons, you can go ahead and use any weapon that you like. Also, if you find yourself having trouble completing these quests, don’t hesitate to send out a Join Request so other hunters would be able to help you. There are always hunters out there willing to help you out.

How do you equip Switch Skills?

Now that you have all the Switch Skills, we bet you’re raring to go and try out these new combos. These Switch Skills can be changed even when you’re in a quest, so feel free to experiment with different skills while you’re on a hunt. To equip these skills, you can just go to any Item Box and look for the Change Switch Skill option. You’ll find all the available Switch Skills for the weapon you have currently equipped.

And there you have it! Monster Hunter Rise is a complex game that rewards players whenever they execute well-timed combos and mechanics. Having a lot of options on how to play the game just makes it even better. Happy hunting!