How To Undo Sent Emails In Gmail

Are you constantly worrying about sending an email to the wrong person or sending one with typos by mistake? If that’s the case, we’re here to introduce a feature in Gmail that can help you. You can recall the emails you sent on the app for a few seconds after sending them. With that in mind, here’s a quick guide on how to use the Undo Send feature on Gmail.


Gmail

When replying to emails or sending one to new recipients, we recommend that you proofread the message first before hitting the Send button. In this way, you can avoid having any typos, grammatical errors, or sending it to the wrong recipient.

However, there are times when people can be out of focus and make these mistakes unintentionally. Fortunately, Gmail allows its users to recall messages during a short period after sending them.

With the help of the Undo Send feature, you can avoid embarrassing mistakes when sending your messages through Gmail.

How to recall recently sent emails in Gmail

If you want to undo your sent emails in Gmail, you only have a few seconds to do so. Depending on your Settings, you have 5-10 seconds to use the Undo Send feature to recall your messages.

You can recall your emails on Gmail whether you’re using the mobile or web app. In our tutorials below, we’ll show you how to use the Undo Send option after sending your messages on the Gmail web browser and mobile app.

On your computer:
  1. Using your preferred web browser, go to Gmail and sign in to your account.
  2. On the upper-left side of your screen, click Compose.

  3. Write your email and hit the Send button.

  4. You’ll find the option to undo the sent message on the bottom-left side of your screen.

On the Android app:
  1. After opening and signing in to the Gmail mobile app, tap Compose at the bottom-right side of your screen.

  2. Write your email and hit the Send button.

  3. You’ll find the Undo option at the bottom part of your screen, under the Compose button.

Please note that you’ll only have the option to recall your email for a few seconds after sending it. After the set time passes, you won’t have any way to undo your sent messages.

How to change how long you can recall a message in Gmail

By default, the cancellation period of your messages in Gmail is 5 seconds after sending them. However, you can always change the duration up to 30 seconds on your Settings. By doing so, you get more time to decide whether to cancel an email whenever you send one.

You can only change the email cancellation duration on Gmail on their web app. There’s no option to do so on the Android and iOS mobile app. With that in mind, here’s a quick step-by-step tutorial on how to do it.

  1. Using your preferred web browser, visit Gmail and sign in to your account.
  2. On the upper-right side of your screen, click the gear icon and select “See all settings.”

  3. Under the General tab, look for “Undo Send” and select your preferred cancellation period. You can choose 5, 10, 15, or 30 seconds.

To wrap it all up

Now that you know how to recall messages you send on Gmail, you don’t need to worry about sending one to the wrong person. With the help of this feature, you can undo messages you mistakenly send in the future, saving you from embarrassment.

Although the Undo Send option is a nice and useful feature to have, we still recommend that you proofread and double-check your messages before hitting the Send button. After all, the cancellation period only lasts for a few seconds.

That’s everything we have on our guide! For more tips, tricks, and tutorials, visit our site regularly and check our latest posts and updates.

Feature Image