How To Undelete A Task In Asana
Last Updated: September 26, 2020
If you’re using Asana, there are times where you need to delete unnecessary tasks from a project. These items are not permanently erased and are stored in a separate page for thirty days in case you need to restore them in the future. So if you want to undelete a task in Asana, check our quick tutorial below.
Tasks are the fundamental unit of operation for Asana. You can create, copy, delete, merge, and print tasks as long as you have permission or you’re a member of the project.
Depending on the project you’re working on, these tasks have different priority levels. Some of them have a high priority label, while others are medium or low.
But no matter what type of task you have, I’m sure that you don’t want to delete one by accident, especially when it is vital to the flow of your project or work.
Fortunately, deleted items aren’t immediately lost forever. As long as you deleted those tasks, you can find them in the Deleted Items page.
How to Restore Tasks from Deleted Items
Once you delete a task or conversation in Asana, the platform won’t permanently erase them before 30 days. You can still recover or restore these tasks by navigating to the Deleted Items page.
It is worth noting that you can only see and restore tasks that you deleted. You can’t see the tasks that other members erased from the project.
Access Deleted Items page:
- Using your favorite web browser, open Asana, and sign-in.
- From the menu on the left, click Favorites > “Show More” > “Deleted Items.”
- Click the trash can icon on the task you want to undelete.
Note: If you need to restore multiple items, you can hold the Shift or Ctrl key and select the items before you click the undelete icon.
- You can also select individual tasks to see more details and information. After checking, you can click the undelete button to restore the item.
Note: Tasks will only stay in the Deleted Items for 30 days. After that period, Asana will automatically delete them permanently.
After you undelete a task, you can find it exactly back in its original position.
Use Search to Find Deleted Items
If you’re having trouble finding the task you want to restore in the list of deleted items, the refine search button can help you. As long as you know some details about the item, you can use this feature to search and undelete tasks.
Whether its the due date or the collaborators, everything you remember about the task can help when you use the refine search filter. We have here a step-by-step guide on how to use the feature.
- From the menu on the left, click Favorites > “Show more” > Deleted Items.
- On the upper right side of the page, click the “Refine search” button.
- Add details you remember about the task and make sure to select “Deleted” in one of the filters.
- Click “Search.”
- From the results, click the trash can icon beside the task name to undelete it.
Aside from tasks, you can also restore conversations in the deleted items list. You can also use the refine search to filter and list all of your deleted conversations.
To Wrap It All Up
Deleted tasks and conversations in Asana aren’t lost forever. Users can recover and restore these items within thirty days. All they have to do is navigate to the Deleted Items page and restore it from there.
After undeleting a task, you can find it back in its previous project and section. Asana restores every detail on the item, including any subtasks alongside it.
Now that you know the process of restoring tasks, this is where we say goodbye. If you want to hear more tips, tutorials, and tricks from us, bookmark our page or visit us every day.