How To Unarchive Chats On Signal
Last Updated: November 30, 2021
Do you want to restore some of your archived chats on Signal? Or do you want to restart your conversations on these hidden chats? In any case, you can unarchive your conversations on Signal whether you’re using their desktop or mobile app. Follow our quick guide below, and we’ll show you how.
In Signal, you can archive inactive conversations to hide them from your inbox. In this way, you can focus on your active conversations while keeping the message history of your old chats.
If you want to restore these inactive conversations to your main inbox, you can unarchive them whenever you want. Once you do, you can use the chat again to contact friends and other people in the conversation.
With that in mind, here’s our guide about unarchiving conversations on Signal.
How to unarchive your conversations on Signal
If you want to restore your hidden conversations on Signal, you can unarchive them any time you want. When you unarchive a chat, it will appear back on your main inbox on the app.
You can unarchive conversations whether you’re using Signal on your phone or computer. In our step-by-step tutorials below, we’ll show you how to do it on both devices.
On your Android device:
- Launch Signal from your home screen or app drawer and sign in to your account.
- Tap “Archived conversations” at the bottom of your chats list.
- Tap and hold on to the conversation that you want to restore.
- Once the menu appears, select “Unarchive.”
Once you unarchive a conversation, you can find it back in your main inbox on the app. If you ever change your mind, you can always archive chats whenever you want.
On the other hand, you can delete these archived conversations permanently from Signal. You can find the option to do so below the Unarchive button once you tap and hold on to an archived chat.
On your desktop:
- Launch the Signal desktop app and link your account by scanning the QR code on your screen.
- Click “Archived Conversations” at the end of your chats list.
- Open the conversation that you want to restore and click the drop-down arrow on the right side of the header.
- On the menu that appears on your screen, select “Unarchive.”
Alternatively, you can press Ctrl + Shift + U while you’re inside the conversation to unarchive it. If it doesn’t work, try pressing Shift + U.
If you no longer need the conversation, you can opt to delete it from your account permanently. You’ll find the option to do so once you click the drop-down arrow on the chat’s header.
To wrap it all up
Now that you know how to unarchive your conversations on Signal, you can restore and move inactive chats back to your inbox. Once you do, you can try sending a message to chat to see whether someone is willing to respond.
That’s everything we have on our guide! For more tips and tutorials from us, visit our page frequently, and browse our latest posts and updates.