How To Turn Off Link Previews On Slack

Are you tired of seeing link previews every time someone shares a link on Slack? Or do you find these features distracting when browsing one of your busy channels? Either way, you can turn them off whenever you want. Follow our guide below, and we’ll show you how to disable link previews on your Slack account.


Tutorial

By default, sharing a link on Slack expands the message, showing a content preview of the web page. In this way, the readers can check the contents before clicking on the link.

Although this feature is useful in most cases, it can cover up most of your conversation window, especially if people share links all the time. Thankfully, Slack allows its users to hide preview links on their accounts.

By navigating to your desktop app preferences, you can manage your media and link options. You can turn off text and image preview whenever someone shares a link.

If you’re having trouble navigating your Slack settings and locating your link preferences, don’t worry, we got you covered. All you have to do is follow our quick guide below.

Without further ado, let’s get started.

How to disable link previews on Slack

If you don’t want to view any previews when someone sends a link on Slack, you can disable the feature on your Preferences options. The next time someone shares a link, you’ll only see the URL on the message.

You can change your link preview preferences from the Slack desktop and web app. Check our step-by-step tutorial below, and we’ll show you the steps to do so.

  1. On your computer, open Slack (web or desktop app) and sign in to your account.
  2. Click your workspace name on the top of your sidebar and click Preferences on the menu.

  3. Head to the “Message & media” options.

  4. Scroll down to the “Inline media & links” section and manage your preview preferences.

You can choose to hide text, image, and file previews of website links shared by other workspace members. You can also hide images and files uploaded on Slack in this section.

Please note that some apps and integrations show previews even if you uncheck the link preferences on your Preferences. You can manually remove previews by clicking the “x” icon that appears when you hover on the link.

Unfortunately, there’s no option to disable link previews on the mobile app. However, you can turn off image previews on your mobile Preferences settings.

To wrap it all up

Now that you know how to manage your link preferences, you can turn off previews whenever you want. In this way, you won’t see any text or image content when someone shares a website link to a channel or conversation on your workspace.

Always remember that you can close previews to messages on the Slack desktop app manually. You can opt to remove those that you don’t find relevant to the channel or conversation.

That’s everything we have on our guide! For more tips, tricks, and tutorials, visit us frequently, and don’t forget to check our daily posts and updates.