How To Share The Screen On Microsoft Teams

Do you have a file that you need to show to your team? Or are you having trouble explaining topics through online meetings? In any case, you have the option to share your screen with your teammates on Microsoft Teams. To learn how to use this feature in your meetings and chats, follow our quick guide below.


Uncategorized

Virtual meetings have their own slice of advantages and disadvantages. While it allows people to talk with their team online, it can be exhausting to discuss and explain key topics over video calls.

Fortunately, Microsoft Teams allows you to share your screen with other participants in a meeting. With the help of this feature, you can show an app, file, PowerPoint, or the entire desktop that is visible on your screen.

While people that are familiar with video-chatting apps can find this feature easily on the platform, that’s not the case for everyone. To help you, we have here a quick tutorial on how to share your screen on Microsoft Teams from your computer or Android device.

How to share your screen during meetings on Teams

In Microsoft Teams, you can choose to share the screen from your computer or mobile. You have the option to show a specific app, file, or your entire screen to the other participants. Check our tutorial below to learn how to use this on the platform.

Note: We used the free version of Microsoft Teams for our guide.

On your computer:

  1. Open the Microsoft Teams desktop app or web client and sign-in to your account.
  2. On the left side of your screen, tap Meetings.
  3. Start a new meeting or choose to join one.

  4. Once you’re finally inside the room, click the Share content button at the top right side of the meeting window. You can also press Ctrl+Shift+E on your keyboard as a shortcut.

  5. Choose the type of content that you want to share.

    • Desktop: Choosing this option shows everything you do on your screen.
    • Windows: This allows you to choose a particular app to share.
    • Powerpoint: Share a presentation from a Powerpoint file on your computer.
    • Browse: Look for a file on your computer that you want to share at the meeting.
    • Whiteboard: Shares a whiteboard where you can write with pens, add text, and stick notes.
  6. After clicking on what you want to share, a red border surrounds the content that you want to show.
  7. To stop sharing your screen, click Hide share options at the top right side of the app besides the mute icon and leave button. Alternatively, you can press Ctrl+Shift+E on your keyboard as a shortcut.

On Android:

  1. Launch the Teams app from your home screen or app drawer.
  2. At the bottom part of your screen, tap the Meetings tab.

  3. Join a scheduled meeting or start a new one instantly.
  4. After entering the room, tap More options (three-dot icon). If you can’t see the meeting options, tap your screen to show them.

  5. Tap Share > Share screen.

  6. Grant Teams the permission to appear on top of other apps if asked.
  7. Tap Start Now to capture and display everything on your screen. Take note that Everyone in the meeting can see everything within the red border on your screen.
  8. To stop sharing, go back to the meeting and tap “Stop presenting” at the bottom of your screen.

How to share your screen on a chat

For desktop app users out there, you have the option to share your screen with a group or individual chat. In this way, you don’t have to invite people to a meeting and start sharing with your group instantly.

To use this feature, tap Screen Sharing at the top right side of a chat conversation. Choose whether to share your whole desktop or one of the programs that you’re using. Once a participant accepts the notification of your screen share, they can now see your screen while continuing to chat.

To stop sharing your screen, you can leave the meeting or hide it through the meeting controls.

To sum it all up

With the help of the share screen feature on Microsoft Teams, you can now show a program, file, presentation, or everything that you see from your computer or mobile device. Once you share your screen, a red border shows up around the apps that are visible to the other participants of the meeting.

We recommend sharing a specific app or program instead of your entire desktop to avoid showing personal or private data from your screen. Once you finish using the feature, you can stop it by hiding the share controls or leaving the meeting.

That’s all from us! For more tips, tricks, and guides, visit us regularly for our latest updates.