How To Send View-once Media On Signal
Last Updated: April 20, 2021
Are you thinking of sharing important images and videos through your Signal chats? Do you want to improve the security of media files before doing so? If that’s a yes, we have some good news for you. In our guide below, we’ll show you how to use the View-once feature on your Signal chats.
Signal Messaging is a fast, secure, and reliable messaging app that offers end-to-end encryption in all of its messages and calls. It’s one of the best alternatives for former WhatsApp and Telegram users out there.
Aside from messaging functions and protection in your chats, Signal also offers more features like View-once media. Using this option when sending images and videos deletes them once the receiver views the message for the first time.
With that in mind, here’s a quick guide to help you. We’ll show you how you can enable the View-once feature on your Signal chats.
How to use the View-once feature when sending media on Signal
If you want to improve the security of your chat when sending media files on Signal, you can enable the View-once feature on your messages. Once you do, the app automatically deletes the image or video after the receiver views it.
You can use the View-once feature whether you’re using Signal on iOS or Android. Follow our step-by-step tutorials below to learn how to do it from both.
- Launch the Signal mobile app and sign in to your account.
- Open one of your chats.
- Use the camera to take a photo or select a media file from your gallery.
- Tap the infinity icon on the bottom-left corner of your screen to enable the View-once feature.
- Send your message.
That’s how you send View-once media on the Signal Android app. Once the reviewer views the message, it gets deleted automatically.
Always remember that this feature is available on your group and private chats. However, don’t expect it to fully protect what you share since the receiver can still screenshot the image if needed.
As for those using the iOS app, you can also follow the steps for the Android version. However, please expect the differences in the interface for both mobile devices.
What happens when you send a View-once media?
After sending a media file with the View-once feature, you won’t be able to see its content. Instead, you’ll see a Media icon in its place. Aside from that, Signal won’t store media files on your device when sent this way.
Please note that disappearing messages affect your View-once media. Signal automatically deletes them once the cooldown expires or after 30 days pass.
As for the receiver, they won’t be able to open the media file after viewing it once. They’ll see “Viewed” alongside the View-once icon in place of the image or video in the chat.
To wrap it all up
Now that you know how to enable the View-once feature when sending images and videos on your Signal chats, you can now share important media without worrying too much about its security.
Take note that you won’t have any access to the media file once you hit the send button. On the other hand, the receiver loses the right to access it after viewing the image or video once.
That’s everything we have on our guide! If you want to view more tips, tricks, and tutorials, visit our website regularly, and check our daily posts and updates.