How To See Grid View On A Google Meet

If you want to view all the participants in Google Meet, you can change your display into a Tiled layout. This feature allows you to show up to 49 people in windows. For a brief introduction of different display views in Google Meet and how to change them, follow our quick guide below.


Uncategorized

Google Meet is one of the most popular video-conferencing apps which teachers and different organizations use for their meetings and classes. While it is previously only available for Enterprise users, it is now free for everyone with Google accounts out there.

To help users in large meetings or classes, Meet recently introduced the Tiled view, which initially allowed users to view up to 16 participants. Also, in efforts to improve the feature, they increased the maximum number of windows to 49, which matches up to Zoom.

Changing your display settings is pretty simple in Zoom. All you have to do is head over to the options and change it from there. But before we get into the step-by-step tutorial on how to change the view, we’ll first introduce the layouts you can use in the platform.


Google Meet Layouts

There are four layout options users can use in Google Meet. By default, Meet automatically chooses the view for you depending on the participants or the activity in the meeting.

Although that is the case, users can easily change their preferred layout through the options. Here’s a brief introduction of each layout view:

Auto

This layout is the default view in Google Meet. The platform automatically adjusts your display to give more attention to active users and other important content.

Tiled

The tiled layout allows users to show up to 49 participants depending on the size of their browser window. This view is perfect for classes and meetings that host numerous participants to show everyone or most of the active users in the video conference.

Spotlight

Spotlight allows you to focus your view on an active speaker or shared screen on a full window. In addition, you can also pin a user or presentation as always visible.

Sidebar

While this layout view also highlights active speakers, it also shows the thumbnail of other participants on the side of your screen, unlike the Spotlight view.


How to use tiled layouts

If you prefer to view all the participants in a grid-like view, you can change your display settings to Tiled layouts. Also, the recent update from Meet now allows users to view up to 49 participants on their screen, just like Zoom.

With the help of this feature, you can view most of the active participants in your meeting all at the same time. To change your layout, follow our quick step-by-step guide below.

  1. On your computer, join a meeting.
  2. At the bottom right part of the screen, click the three vertical dots to access the options.

  3. Click “Change layout.”

  4. From the options, select the Tiled view.

While you can display up to 49 tiles on your screen, the number may change depending on your browser window size. By default, Meet shows 16 participants on the screen, but you can also lessen the number in case you have a weak internet connection.

Take note that when you choose a new layout, Meet automatically saves it as your preference. However, the number of tiles will revert to its default number. So if you want to show the maximum tiles in every meeting, you need to change the settings every time.

Unfortunately for Google Meet mobile app users, the Tiles view feature is only available on web browsers. We can only hope that Meet integrates this layout on its mobile app in the future.


Conclusion

With the help of the Tiled layout, users can display most of the other participants on their screen in a grid-like view. This feature can help in monitoring multiple speakers, encouraging class participation, and in connecting teams online.

Now that you know how to change your layout, you can choose the most appropriate one for your meetings in terms of the content shared, the number of participants, or your preference. You don’t have to worry about other users since these changes to display are only visible to you.

Also, please take note that when you choose a new layout, Meet automatically saves it for your next meeting. In any case, you can always change the settings and revert them to the default option.

We hope that our article helped you in changing your display settings in Google Meet. If you want more tips, tricks, and tutorials, don’t forget to click the bookmark button and subscribe to our newsletter.