How To Remove A Member From Your Workspace On Slack

Do you want to remove an inactive user from your workspace on Slack? How about someone that has finished their work with your project? In any case, we got you covered. Follow our guide below, and we’ll show you how to deactivate a member’s account on Slack to remove them from your workspace.


Tutorial

If you’re using Slack for a long-term project, business, or work, people might come and go on your workspace. For example, you might be hiring someone temporarily or invite a member for a specific service.

While some people prefer to leave the workspace on their own, others forget to deactivate their accounts once they finish their job. Thankfully, Slack allows admins and owners to deactivate another user’s account from the workspace.

In this way, you can remove inactive members from your channels and restrict their access to your workspace in the future. However, this option won’t remove messages and files they previously shared on your workspace.

With that in mind, here’s our guide on removing a user from your workspace on Slack.

How to deactivate a member’s account on Slack

If you want to restrict people from accessing your workspace on Slack, you can deactivate their accounts. When you do, the app removes them from all your channels, signs them out of your workspace on all devices, and prevents them from signing back in.

There’s no option to deactivate a member’s account from the Slack mobile app. You can do so from the Slack desktop and web app. Follow our quick tutorial below to learn how.

Note: This guide is for Slack Free, Pro, and Business+ plan users.

  1. Launch the Slack desktop app or open their web browser client and sign in to your workspace.
  2. Click your workspace name on the top-left side of your screen.

  3. Hover your pointer to “Settings & administrations” and select “Manage members.”

  4. Click the three dots on the right of the member you want to remove from your workspace and select “Deactivate account” from the options that appear.

  5. Click the Deactivate button to confirm your decision.

When you deactivate someone’s account on your workspace, it won’t delete messages and files they previously shared on channels and direct messages. Also, it won’t notify them that you removed their access to your workspace.

Always remember that your role in a workspace determines whether you can deactivate other user’s accounts. For example, an admin can deactivate members and guests, while workspace owners can also remove admins.

If you ever change your mind, you can reactivate a member’s account to give them access back to your workspace. All you have to do is navigate to the “Manage members” page and enable the account from the list.

Manage your workspace members on Slack

Now that you know how to deactivate another user’s account on Slack, you can go ahead and remove the inactive members, guests, or even admins from your workspace. In this way, you can keep the list of your members neat and organized.

Like we mentioned earlier, deactivating someone’s account doesn’t remove messages and previous files they shared on a channel or direct message. You can access your DMs with a former member by clicking Ctrl + K (Windows/Linux) or Cmd + K (Mac) and searching for their name on the message history.

That’s all we have on our guide about removing someone from your Slack workspace. For more tips, tricks, and tutorials, visit our site frequently, and check our daily posts or updates.