How To Remove A Member From Your ClickUp Workspace
Last Updated: January 25, 2023
Do you have someone in your ClickUp workspace that’s not a part of your team or company anymore? Or do you want to kick out inactive users from the workspace? In any case, you can remove someone from your workspace as long as you’re an owner or admin. Check our guide below and we’ll cover the steps to manage your workspace members on ClickUp.
In ClickUp, you can invite other people to help you work on your project or tasks within the workspace. As the owner, you have full permission to manage the people within your workspace.
As you continue working on your project on the app, there might be users that you want to be removed from your workspace. After all, some people may no longer be needed on your project while others may have gone inactive over time.
Here’s our guide about removing users from your ClickUp workspace.
How to remove someone from your workspace on ClickUp
If someone is no longer part of your company or organization, you can remove them from your ClickUp workspace. Once you remove someone from your workspace, they can no longer access the tasks, spaces, and other stuff within your workspace.
You can manage your workspace members from the ClickUp desktop or web app. We’ll show you the steps to remove someone from your workspace in our tutorial below.
On your desktop:
- Launch the ClickUp desktop app or visit their web client and sign in to your account.
- Click your profile icon at the bottom of the sidebar.
- On the menu that appears on your screen, select “People“
- Browse the workspace members, click More options on the right side of the user that you want to manage, and select “Remove” from the menu.
- Click the Remove button on the pop-up window to confirm your decision.
That’s how you remove someone from your workspace on ClickUp. Only workspace owners and admins have permission to manage and remove people from a ClickUp workspace.
Once you remove someone from your workspace, they won’t be able to participate in the tasks within the workspace or view its contents. The app will also delete the lists, tasks, and private spaces owned by the deactivated user.
Any tasks assigned to a deactivated user will still be available on your workspace. You can reassign these tasks to active users whenever you want.
Please note that removing someone from a paid workspace allows you to reassign the post to another user. If you didn’t add a new user to replace the one you removed, ClickUp will adjust your bills in the next billing cycle.
To wrap things up
Now that you know how to manage users on ClickUp, you can now remove the ones you no longer want on your workspace. Always remember that when you kick out someone on the app, you can’t undo your decision.
Even if you add someone back to your workspace, you can’t recover the previous tasks, private folders, and lists owned by the former member of your workspace.
That’s it! For more tips and tutorials, visit our page frequently, and read our daily posts and updates.