How To Promote An Admin On Trello

Do you need some help in managing your workspace boards and settings on Trello? Do you need another admin for all your boards? If so, you can change the member permissions on your workspace and promote one of the members to an admin. Check our guide below to learn how.


Tutorial

In Trello, members can manage and create boards within the workspace. However, they can’t change its settings, invite members, or create invitation links.

If you need some help in managing your workspace and boards, you have the option to change the permission of some of your members and promote them to an admin position.

Here’s our guide about managing your member permissions on Trello.

How to make someone an admin on Trello

If you want someone to help you manage your workspace on Trello, you can promote them to an admin position. Admins can create boards and manage the workspace settings for you.

You can change the workspace permission of a member of your workspace on the Trello web app. Follow our tutorial below, and we’ll show you how.

On your computer:

  1. Open your favorite web browser, visit the Trello web client, and sign in to your account.
  2. Browse your workspaces and click “Members” on the one that you want to manage.

  3. Check the workspace members and click the permissions option on the right.

  4. Select “Admin” on the pop-up window.

Please note: Members of a free workspace on Trello automatically becomes an admin.

That’s how you promote someone to an admin on Trello. If you ever change your mind, you can always demote someone to a normal member whenever you want.\

Be careful when promoting someone as an admin of a workspace. Admins have administrative rights to all boards and can edit all the boards and settings within the workspace.

Unfortunately, there’s no way to manage member permissions on the Trello mobile app. However, you can always access the web app on your phone’s browser to promote someone to an admin.

Once there’s another admin in your workspace, you can demote yourself to a normal member. Also, you can leave the workspace without deleting its contents whenever you want.

To wrap it all up

Now that you know how to manage your workspace member permissions, you can promote someone to an admin whenever you want. However, always remember that admins have full permission to manage a workspace, including inviting and removing its current members.

That’s everything we have on our guide! If you want to read more tips and tutorials, visit our page frequently and browse our daily posts and updates.