How To Mute Everyone On Google Meet

Are you having trouble with distractions from other participants on your Google Meet meeting? Do you want to prevent them from using their microphone or video feed as you discuss and explain important topics? If that’s the case, you can enable the video lock feature on the app. In our guide below, we’ll show you how to turn off audio and video for participants of your meeting on Google Meet.


Tutorial

When you host a meeting on Google Meet, there might be some distractions from someone’s audio or video feed from time to time. Although you can manually mute people on your meeting, it can be quite time-consuming if there are a lot of participants in the room.

Thankfully, Google Meet has a new feature that allows hosts to lock video and audio from all the participants in the meeting, besides co-hosts. As such, you can proceed with your discussions while minimizing the distractions from other users.

Follow our quick guide below, and we’ll show you how to turn off video and audio for all meeting participants in Google Meet.

How to lock the participants’ audio and video on Google Meet

If you’re having trouble controlling other participants on your meeting as a host or co-host, you can opt to turn off their audio or video feed inside the room. In this way, you can proceed in discussing the things you want to talk about without worrying about interruptions from other users.

For now, you can lock other participants’ videos and audio on the Google Meet web app. In our tutorial below, we’ll show you how to do both.

  1. On your computer, open your preferred web browser, visit the Google Meet web client, and sign in to your account.
  2. Host a new meeting or join one as a co-host.
  3. Inside the meeting room, click the host controls icon on the bottom right corner.

  4. Under the Host Management section, uncheck “Turn on their microphone” to prevent other participants from using their mic. You can also uncheck “Turn on their video” to stop other participants from using their camera, sharing their screen, or presenting during the meeting.

When you lock audio or video on your meeting, it affects everyone on your meetings besides the host and co-hosts of the room. Until you turn these features on, participants can’t toggle their camera or mic on the app.

Once you enable the video and audio back on, participants need to manually enable their mic or camera to use them on the meeting. Until then, you can promote someone as co-host to allow them to share their screen or presentation.

Please note that participants may get kicked out of the meeting room if they don’t have the latest Android, iOS, Meet, or Gmail version. Once you turn off the video or audio lock, they can join back inside.

Unfortunately, locking video or audio isn’t available on the Meet mobile app at the moment. However, lock settings apply to those who attend meetings from their phone.

To wrap it all up

Now that you know how to lock video and audio on Google Meet, you can turn off the microphone or video feed for all meeting participants with one click. As such, there’s no need for you to mute each participant one-by-one.

That’s everything we have on us! For more tips, tricks, and tutorials, check our latest posts and updates.

Featured Image