How To Make Channel Private On Slack

Are there things you want to discuss with some members of your workspace that you can’t share with other people on Slack? Do you want a private space for a few people in your workspace? In any case, we got you covered. In our guide below, we’ll teach you how to convert one of your public Slack channels to a private one.


Tutorial

In Slack, users mainly use channels to discuss projects and share information with other people. By default, each one you add to your workspace is a public one, which every other member can access and use.

While transparent communication is the key to successful projects, you might want to discuss some things with your admins or team leaders before sharing them with everyone. Thankfully, Slack allows you to convert public channels to private ones as long as you have the permission to do so.

With that in mind, here’s our guide about converting channels to private on Slack.

How to convert a public channel to a private one on Slack

If you want to have a channel for specific members of your workspace, you can choose to convert one of your channels to a private one. In this way, you can have a space where you can have discussions that you can’t share with everyone.

You can only convert channels on the Slack desktop and web app. There’s no option to do so on their mobile app. With that in mind, here’s a step-by-step tutorial on how to convert a channel to a private one.

  1. Open the Slack web or desktop app and sign in to your account.
  2. Visit one of your public channels and click its name on the header to open the channel details.

  3. Head to the Settings tab and click “Change to a private channel.”

  4. Once the pop-up window shows up on your screen, click “Change to Private” to confirm your decision.

Note: You can’t make the #general channel a private one.

Please note that when you make a channel private, you can’t convert it back to a public one. Also, Slack sends an automatic message on the channel to notify all its members about your decision.

Once you convert a channel to a private one, new members can only join through invitation. In this way, you can discuss important matters without worrying about other people in the workspace.

Lastly, only admins and the workspace owner can convert a channel to a private one. However, owners can restrict this permission if they want to.

To wrap it all up

By converting some of your public channels to private ones, you can create a space where only some members of your workspace can access. In this way, you can host discussions and brainstorming sessions with admins and team leaders before sharing them with the rest of the members.

Messages or files sent to a private channel are only searchable for its members. However, files shared before converting a channel won’t become private as well.

That’s all from us! If you want more tips, tricks, and tutorials about Slack, visit our site regularly, and check our daily posts or updates.

Featured Image