How To Lock Your Meetings On Skype

Are you tired of strangers suddenly joining your group in the middle of a call or discussion? Thankfully, Skype allows you to be in full control of the meetings you host on their platform. Whether you’re on a work-related video conference or a virtual meetup with your close friends, you can easily prevent people from entering the call. In our guide below, we’ll show you how to lock your meetings on Skype.


Tutorial

By default, anyone can join meetings and video conferences you host on Skype by clicking the sharable link. This feature allows you to invite people for a call even though they’re not using the app.

While this option is useful in most cases, there are times when strangers suddenly barge in during a meeting accidentally or not. Thankfully, the host can lock the meeting room temporarily to prevent other people from joining via the sharable link.

With that in mind, here’s our guide about using the lock feature on your meetings and calls on Skype.

How to prevent people from joining your meeting via a link on Skype

If you don’t want random people suddenly stumbling into your calls on Skype, you have the option to use the “lock” feature. By locking your meeting, other people can’t use the link to join. As such, you can enjoy talking to your friends or discussing with your workmates without worrying about strangers causing trouble.

You can lock your meetings whether you’re using Skype on your computer or phone. In our step-by-step tutorials below, we’ll show you how to use the feature on both devices.

On your computer:

  1. Launch Skype on your desktop or visit their web browser client and sign in to your Microsoft account.
  2. Start a new meeting or use one of your existing meeting chats.
  3. Once you’re inside the call, click the Share link option on the bottom left side of the screen and turn off “Allow joining via link” on the menu.

That’s how you lock your meetings during an existing call on the Skype desktop and web app. Once you’re ready to receive more people to your room, you can opt to turn on joining via link.

On the other hand, you can use the lock feature on the meeting chat. To do so, click the title of the meeting and toggle “Allow joining via link.” You can also right-click on a group on the recent chats, select Manage group on the menu, and turn off the sharable link feature on the options that appear on your screen.

On the mobile app:

As for those who primarily use the Skype mobile app, you can’t lock your meetings during one, but you can prevent other users from joining it via the sharable link. You can do so by opening the group or meeting chat and managing its settings.

  1. Launch the Skype mobile app from your home screen or app drawer and sign in to your account.
  2. Open one of your group or meeting chats.
  3. Tap the group or meeting name at the top of your screen.

  4. Tap “Share link to join group.”

  5. Toggle off the “Share group via link” option.

With the help of the lock feature in Skype, you get control of your calls and meetings on the app. In this way, you get to prevent strangers from suddenly entering your discussions, whether intentional or not.

Make your Skype meetings private and secure

With the help of the “lock” feature on Skype, you can prevent other people outside of your group from using the sharable link to join your meetings. As such, you can have a smooth video conference with your workmates, friends, and other contacts on the app.

If you ever need to invite more people to your meetings, you can always enable the sharable link feature when you need to and turn it off once you have everyone present inside the room.

That’s all from us! If you want to view more tips, tricks, and tutorials, visit us regularly, and check our daily posts and updates.