How To Lock Roles In Discord

Is someone messing around with the roles you assign on Discord? Or do you want to be the only one to manage them on your server? In any case, you have the option to lock these roles so that only you and the admins can edit, delete, and assign them to members. Check our guide below to learn how to do this on your server.


Uncategorized

For those who don’t know, roles in Discord act like ranks or hierarchy on a forum. It can help you organize new members, assign officers, and limit what people can do on a server. Aside from that, it can also help users identify which people to message when they encounter problems on a channel.

As such, it’s a good idea to add a few roles and assign them to your members. Since each one you create can have different sets of permissions, you can add a new one with privileges to manage lower-ranked roles.

But in case you change your mind, or you don’t want other people aside from your admins to edit, assign, or create roles, you have the option to disable the permission to do so on Discord. In turn, you get to lock the ones that you assign to the members on your server.

How to lock roles in a Discord server

By default, only the server owner can create, manage, and assign roles to the other members. But if you accidentally turned the feature on for everyone on the server, other people can manage, edit, and delete lower-ranked roles in the hierarchy than the one assigned to them.

So in case you don’t want anyone to edit the roles you assign to members, you have the option to disable the permission to manage server roles for everyone on the server. Follow our quick step-by-step tutorial below to learn how!

On your computer:

  1. Open the Discord desktop app or web browser client and sign-in.
  2. Select the server that you want to manage from the list on the left.
  3. Right-click on the server name or icon, hover your mouse pointer to Server Settings and select Roles.

  4. Select which role to manage.
  5. Under General Permissions, turn off the permission to edit and delete other roles.

On Android:

  1. Launch the Discord app from your home screen or app drawer.
  2. Tap the three horizontal lines at the top left side of your screen to open the list of servers.

  3. Select which server to manage and tap the three-dot icon to access some options.
  4. Tap Settings.

  5. Under User Management, tap Roles.

  6. Select which role to edit and disable the option to manage other roles.

If you use a ton of roles on your server, check each one and turn off the permission to manage roles until you disable the feature for everyone. Once you disable it for everyone, no one can access the setting unless they have administrative permissions.

Please note that even if a member has the privileges of an admin, they can’t edit, delete, or add other roles that are ranked higher than the one assigned to them. The option to manage role permissions disappears from their settings as well.

How to add roles to the members of a server in Discord

Now that you locked the roles, you can now re-assign them to the members of the server. Since they don’t have the permission to manage roles, they can’t edit the ones you assign to them.

In case you can’t remember how to add roles to members, here’s a quick recap:

  1. Navigate to Server Settings > Members.
  2. Click on the plus icon on a member’s list of roles to assign a new one.
  3. Alternatively, you can hover your mouse pointer to a member, tap the three-dot icon, and select “Roles.”

Unless the member has admin or role management privileges, they can’t change or delete the role you assign to them. Aside from that, they can’t edit other member’s roles as well.

To wrap things up

Now that you know how to lock your roles, no user can edit the ones you assign to the members aside from the admins. In turn, only you and a handful of people can manage the ranks on your server, which can keep it organized and controlled.

That’s all from us! If you want to see more guides and tutorials, visit us regularly for our daily updates.