How To Leave A Group On Viber
Last Updated: December 10, 2022
Do you want to exit one of your group chats on Viber? Is the conversation inactive, or do you no longer wish to be a part of it? In any case, you can leave a group on the app whenever you want. Follow our quick guide below, and we’ll show you how to do so.
In Viber, users can join or create groups to socialize or interact with multiple users in one place. With the help of this feature, you can communicate with your friends, workmates, and people with the same interests in a single conversation.
As time passes, there might be group conversations that you no longer need on your account. Some conversations may become inactive over time, while others might not interest you anymore.
Thankfully, you have the option to leave groups on Viber whenever you want. When you do, you’ll lose your copy of the conversation, and you won’t be able to receive or send messages to the chat.
Here’s our guide about leaving a group on Viber.
How to exit a group on Viber
If you don’t want to be a part of a group chat on Viber anymore, you can leave it whenever you want. After leaving a group chat, you cannot send messages to the chat or view its contents in the future.
You can leave a group whether you’re using the Viber desktop or mobile app. In our tutorials below, we’ll cover all the steps to do so.
On your phone:
- Launch the Viber mobile app and sign in to your account.
- Head to the Chats tab and open the group that you want to manage.
- Tap More options (three dots icon) on the top right corner and select “Chat info” from the menu.
- Select the Leave and delete options from the sidebar.
- Tap “Leave and delete” on the pop-up window to confirm your decision.
After leaving the group, you’ll no longer receive messages from the conversation. Also, you can’t participate in the group anymore unless you rejoin it in the future.
On your computer:
- Launch the Viber desktop app and sign in to your account.
- Open the group that you want to manage from the Chats tab.
- Look for the chat information on the right, scroll down, and select the Leave and Delete option at the bottom of the sidebar. If the chat information isn’t open on your screen, click the information icon on the conversation header to display it.
- Select “Leave and Delete” on the pop-up window to confirm your decision.
That’s how you leave a group on Viber. If you ever change your mind, you can always ask one of the group admins to add you back to the conversation.
To wrap things up
Now that you know how to leave groups on Viber, you can now exit the conversations that you no longer need on your account. In this way, you can keep your chats list on the app organized without the conversations that you no longer use.
That’s it! For more tips and tutorials, visit our page frequently, and read our latest posts and updates.