How To Leave A Group Chat On Discord
Last Updated: February 14, 2022
Do you no longer want to participate in one of your group chats in Discord? Or do you wish to remove yourself from one of your inactive group conversations? In any case, you can leave group chats on Discord whenever you want. Follow our guide below, and we’ll show you how.
Aside from joining Discord servers and communicating through their voice and text channels, users can opt to use the direct message feature to chat and call with their friends outside of servers. People can also create group chats to create a space for their group of friends to hang out.
As long as you receive an invitation from one of the chat’s members, you can join the conversation and participate in the group chat and calls. If you feel that you’re not welcome or the group doesn’t suit your interests, you can leave it whenever you want.
Here’s our guide about leaving group chats on Discord.
How to exit a group conversation on your Discord account
If you no longer wish to participate in one of your group chats in Discord, you can leave the conversation any time you want. When you do, you won’t receive any messages from the group, and it won’t appear on your recent messages in the future.
You can leave a group conversation on Discord whether you’re on your phone or computer. In our quick tutorials below, we’ll cover the steps for both.
On your desktop:
- Open the Discord app on your computer or visit their web browser client and sign in to your account.
- Head to the home tab and browse your Direct Messages list.
- Right-click on the group chat that you want to leave and select “Leave Group” from the menu.
- Click “Leave Group” on the pop-up window that appears on your screen to confirm your decision.
That’s how you leave group chats from the Discord desktop and web app. You won’t be able to view all the messages and files shared in the conversation in the future after leaving it.
If you ever change your mind, you can always ask the chat participants to add you back to the conversation. You can’t rejoin without having an invitation from one of the chat members.
On the Discord app for Android:
- After opening the app, head to the home tab and open one of the group chats that you want to leave.
- Tap the members icon on the top right side of the chat window.
- Tap More options (three dots icon) on the upper right and select “Leave Group” on the menu.
- Tap the red Leave Group button on the pop-up window to confirm your decision.
When you leave a group, Discord sends a notification on the chat about your decision. If you don’t want any issues with the other members, you can opt to mute the conversation and forget about it in the future.
As we mentioned earlier, you can’t rejoin a group after leaving it unless someone invites you back.
To wrap it all up
Now that you know how to leave a group chat on Discord, you can remove yourself from inactive conversations that you no longer use on the app. If you ever change your mind, you can ask one of your friends to add you back to the conversation.
That’s everything we have on us! For more tips and tutorials, visit our page frequently and read our latest posts and updates.