How To Leave A Community On Teams

Do you no longer wish to participate in one of the communities you have on your Teams personal account? Or is the chat no longer active? Either way, you can leave a community on Teams whenever you want. In our guide below, we’ll cover the steps to do so.


Tutorial

If you have a Microsoft Teams personal account, you can join as many communities as you want. Communities can help you connect with people that have the same interests and hobbies as you do.

As you join communities with your account, you might encounter some that won’t meet your expectations. Also, some communities might become inactive after some time passes.

Thankfully, you have the option to leave a community whenever you want as a member. Here’s a guide to help you do so.

How to leave a Teams community

If you don’t want to be a part of a community on Teams anymore, you can leave the chat whenever you want. After leaving a community, you won’t be able to send messages to the chat or view its contents.

Since communities are available on the Teams mobile app only, you can only leave one from your phone. Follow our tutorial below to learn how.

Note: Communities are only available on a Teams personal account.

On your phone:

  1. Launch the Teams mobile app from your home screen or app drawer and sign in to your account.
  2. Head to the Home tab and open one of the communities on your account.
  3. Tap the information icon on the conversation header.

  4. Select the Leave option near the bottom of the community information page.

  5. Tap Leave on the pop-up window to confirm your decision.

That’s how you leave a community on your Microsoft Teams personal account. If you ever change your mind, you can ask one of the owners to invite you back to the chat.

Regular community members can leave the conversation whenever they want. On the other hand, you’ll need to promote one of the members to an owner if you’re planning to leave the community as the sole owner.

Please note that owners have the option to delete the community instead of deleting it whenever they want. Once someone deletes a community, no one can access the chat’s contents in the future.

To wrap things up

Now that you know how to leave a community on Teams, you can now exit from the ones you no longer use on the app. If you’re the only owner of a community, you’ll need to promote someone else to an owner before you can leave the chat.

That’s everything we have in our guide! For more tips and tutorials, visit our page frequently, and read our latest posts and updates.