How To Leave A Channel On Slack

Do you have a channel that you no longer use as a member of your Slack workspace? Or do you feel that one of the conversations is no longer relevant to your work? Thankfully, you can leave channels any time you want on Slack. Follow our quick guide below, and we’ll teach you the steps in doing so, whether you’re on your desktop or mobile device.


Tutorial

In Slack, people use channels to message and share files with other workspace members. However, there are times when you feel that you no longer need to use a certain channel on the app. When that happens, you can opt to leave the conversation on your own terms.

Workspace members on Slack can leave private or public channels at any time without any difficulty. However, no one can leave the #general channel, which is for everyone in your workspace.

With that in mind, here’s our guide about leaving a channel on Slack.

How to leave a channel on your Slack workspace

If you no longer use one of the channels you have on your workspace as a member, you can opt to leave it any time you want. By doing so, you’ll no longer receive any messages or notifications from the conversation, allowing you to focus on other channels in your workspace.

You can leave a channel on Slack from your phone or computer. In our quick tutorials below, we’ll cover the steps of doing it on both devices.

On your computer:

  1. Launch Slack on your computer (web or desktop app) and sign in to your workspace.
  2. Go to the channel that you want to leave.
  3. Click the channel’s name on the top of the conversation header.

  4. On the About tab, click “Leave channel.”

  5. Once the pop-up notification appears on your screen, click the “Leave Channel” button to confirm your decision.

After leaving a public channel, you can rejoin it every time as long as you have permission to do so. On the other hand, you’ll need someone to invite you again to rejoin a private channel.

Please note that no one on the workspace can leave the #general channel. Also, single-channel guests on paid plans can’t leave the channel they’re using on by themselves.

On your mobile device:

  1. Open Slack from your home screen or app drawer and sign in to your account and workspace.
  2. Head to the channel that you want to leave behind.
  3. Tap the channel details icon on the top right corner of the conversation header.

  4. Scroll down and select “Leave.”

If you choose to leave a private channel, you won’t be able to view its messages and files even with the search bar until you rejoin. However, you’ll need one of its members to add you back to do so.

Multi guest channels can only leave public channels when an admin or owner removes them.

To wrap it all up

Now that you know how to leave a channel on Slack, you can remove yourself from conversations that you no longer use on the workspace. As such, you can now focus on active chats with other members.

If you still need the message history from your inactive private channels, you can opt to mute the notifications instead of deleting them. Leaving a private channel removes all its messages and files from the search results.

That’s all we have on our guide! If you want more tutorials, visit our site frequently, and read our daily posts and updates.