How To Give Other People Permission To Edit In Google Drive

Whether it be for academic, business, and personal purposes, Google Drive is a great platform to use for storing all your essential files. It easily allows you to access and look for the documents, images, and videos you need for a specific reason.


Tutorial

Plus, what’s great about it is that you can share files, view media and documents from other users with the use of the platform. Didn’t know that was possible? Now you do!

If you’re curious about how it’s done, it can be achieved with just a few clicks. Collaborate better with your peers, co-workers, employers, and others more by learning about the detailed guide on permitting other people to edit your files in Google Drive!

1. Go to Google Drive and select the file you want to work on.

Launch Google Drive on your device and carefully browse through all your files, then select the one you wish to share with other users by editing the permission access.

2. From your Google Drive, right click on the file you want to change the edit permission.

If you’ve already decided on what file to modify, right-click on that particular document or file then a small drop-down menu will appear.

3. Select share from the drop-down menu and a sharing window will appear.

From all the options in the drop-down menu, scroll down until you see the “Share” option and select it. After that, a new window called “Share with people and groups” will appear.

4. Enter the email addresses of the individuals you want to share and edit the document with and choose “Editor”.

In the new window, enter the email addresses of the people you want to share the document with and those you want to give access to edit. Afterward, on the right side of the window, you will see a drop-down arrow that will give you three types of access — Viewer, Commenter, and Editor. You have to choose the “Editor” option to let the receiver of the file edit the document.

5. Click “Send” for recipients to receive an email with the file you shared.

If the email addresses of those you want to send the file to are complete and have finished modifying the type of access for them, click send and the file will be automatically sent to their email — successfully granting them access to edit it.

However, there’s still another way for you to do that, and if you wish to apply the other process of doing so, here are the steps you have to follow.

1. Click the “Change” option in the Get Link window.

On the bottom part of the sharing with people and groups window, there is the Get Link option. It is another way of permitting other people to edit your file. Select “Change” and you will be given two options, Restricted and Anyone with Link.

2. Choose the “Anyone with Link” option and make them editors by selecting that option from the different types of access.

From the options provided, select “Anyone with the link” and after that, edit the access type and change it to “Editor”. This will allow anyone with the link to access and edit your document.

3. Select “Copy link” then click “Done” to save changes.

Don’t forget to copy the link and click “Done” before closing the Get Link window to apply the changes made.

Final Thoughts

The sharing option in Google Drive is one of the things you must practice using if you want business, personal, or academic works to be efficiently executed for you. In this way, you’ll be able to accomplish tasks in groups and work on a specific thing anywhere at the same time.

However, if you have confidential files stores in your Drive, make sure to be careful about editing the permission access because there might be tendencies of carelessness and might open the access for those types of documents to other users.