How To Enable Disappearing Messages In Signal

Do you want to keep your Signal chats tidy and free of old conversations? If so, we have a solution for you. By enabling disappearing messages, Signal automatically deletes newly sent messages on the chat. If that’s what you want, follow our guide below, and we’ll teach you how to enable the feature on the Signal mobile and desktop app.


Tutorial

Like Telegram, Signal Messaging also has a feature that allows you to delete messages in your chats automatically. From the name itself, this feature makes newly sent messages disappear after the set amount of time.

While disappearing messages can help you keep the chat fresh for new conversations, it doesn’t improve your security by a lot. Every participant in the chat can still screenshot your conversation if they want to.

In any case, here’s a guide about setting up disappearing messages on Signal. Whether you’re having trouble navigating through the features of the mobile or desktop app, we’re here to help you.

How to set up disappearing messages on your Signal chats

If you want to keep your Signal chats neat, you can choose to enable disappearing messages. By doing so, the app automatically deletes your messages after some time passes.

You can set up disappearing messages from all the versions of Signal. Whether you’re using the app on your phone or computer, we got you covered. All you have to do is follow our step-by-step tutorials below.

On the Android app:
  1. After launching the app, open one of your chats.
  2. At the top of your screen, tap the chat’s icon to access its Settings.


    Alternatively, you can tap More options (three-dot icon) and select access the conversation settings from the menu.
  3. Tap the “Disappearing messages” option.

  4. Choose how long the messages would last in the chat and tap “OK” to save the changes.

If you want to disable or change the feature’s timer, all you have to do is follow the steps above and change your “Disappearing messages” settings.

That’s how you set disappearing messages for Signal on Android. As for those on the iOS app, the process is similar, but there are slight differences in the interface.

On the desktop app:
  1. Open one of your chats on the left.
  2. On the upper-right corner of the screen, click the drop-down arrow.

  3. At the top of the menu, click “Disappearing messages” and choose your preferred duration.



    Note: You can turn off the feature by selecting “off” on the duration options.

Please note that the message will disappear once the chosen duration ends. The countdown starts differently depending on if you’re the receiver or sender of the message.

If you’re the receiver, the timer starts when you read the message. On the other hand, the countdown starts immediately for the sender once they hit the Send button.

Everyone participating in the conversation can set up or disable disappearing messages on the chat. Also, the feature only applies to new messages sent on the chat.

To wrap it all up

Now that you know how to enable disappearing messages on Signal, you can go ahead and set the countdown for your chats. Once you do, your messages will self-destruct once the chosen time passes.

Always remember that you can use disappearing messages on group or private chats. However, please note that every participant can enable, disable, or manage the feature on the conversation settings.

That’s everything we have on our guide! For more tips, tricks, and tutorials, hit the bookmark button, and visit us regularly for our daily posts and updates.