How To Edit A Message On Slack

Did you notice that you accidentally send a wrong message on a Slack channel or DM? Are you thinking of changing it before anyone sees it? In our guide below, we’ll show you how to edit messages you previously sent on Slack.


Tutorial

Slack recognizes that people make mistakes from time to time. Whether you misspelled a few words or sent a message to the wrong channel, the app allows you to edit your previously sent messages.

In this way, you can save yourself from the embarrassment that you might feel when someone sees your message in the conversation.

With that in mind, here’s our quick guide on how to edit messages on Slack.

How to edit your sent messages on Slack

If you only realize that you made a mistake on your message after hitting the Send button, there’s no need to panic. You have the option to edit all your sent messages on channels and DMs on Slack if the admins or owners allowed you to.

You can edit a message on Slack whether you’re using the app on your phone or computer. In our quick tutorials below, we’ll show you how to do it on both.

On your computer:

  1. Launch Slack on your desktop or visit their web browser client and sign in to your workspace.
  2. Open the channel or DM where you want to edit a message.
  3. Hover on one of the messages you sent and click More actions (three vertical dots).

  4. Click “Edit message.” Alternatively, you can press “E” on your keyboard.

  5. Change the message you sent and click “Save Changes” to apply.

After changing a message you previously sent on your channel or DM, everyone on the chat can see an “edited” option beside the newly updated message. In this way, no one can edit their messages secretly from other users.

On your phone:

  1. Launch the Slack mobile app and sign in to your workspace.
  2. Open the channel or DM where you want to edit a message.
  3. Tap and hold on to one of the messages you previously sent in the conversation.

  4. Tap “Edit message” once the options shows up on your screen.

  5. Make some changes to the message and tap the check icon on the bottom right to apply the changes.

When you can’t see an option to edit a message, find an admin or owner and ask for their help. They have the authority to restrict this permission to all members of the workspace.

Managing permissions for editing messages on Slack

Like we mentioned earlier, every workspace member on Slack can edit or delete messages they previously sent on a channel or DM on Slack. However, owners and admins can choose to modify this permission whenever they want.

With that in mind, here’s how to manage your workspace editing permissions on Slack:

  1. On your computer, open the Slack desktop or web browser app and sign in to your account.
  2. Click your workspace name on the top left, hover to “Settings & administration,” and select “Workspace settings” on the menu.

  3. Head to the Permissions tab and select “Expand” next to the “Message Editing & Deletion” section.
  4. Choose how long members can edit their messages after sending and click Save to apply the changes.

Please note that restricting the editing duration of messages can affect how people communicate with their fellow workspace members.

To wrap things up

Now that you know how to edit your messages on Slack, you can correct messages you sent on channels and DMs you have on the app. If you’re fast enough, you can even edit a message before any other member sees it in the conversation.

That’s everything we have on our guide! If you want to read more tips, tricks, and tutorials, visit us regularly and check our daily posts and updates.