How To Disable Your Account On Discord

Are you thinking about taking a temporary break from using your Discord account? Do you plan to come back to use the app in the future? If so, here’s a guide for you. We’ll show you how to disable your account on Discord. Whether you’re using the mobile, desktop, or web app, don’t worry, we’re here to help you.


Tutorial

Although Discord is one of the best apps where you can join communities, discuss with other people, and talk with your friends, there are times when users need a break.

Thankfully, the messaging platform allows its users to deactivate their accounts temporarily. In this way, you can disable your account in the meantime and reactivate it when you’re ready to use it again.

Unlike deletion, disabling an account is reversible if ever you change your mind. If that’s what you want, we got you covered. In our guide below, we’ll teach you how to disable your account on the Discord app.

How to disable your Discord account

If you want to take a break from using Discord, you can choose to disable your account. When you do, you won’t receive any notifications from the app.

Please note that server owners must first let go of all their servers on the app. You can do this by transferring the ownership to other users or deleting them all one by one.

Once you finish cleaning up your servers, you can go ahead and disable your account. If you’re having some trouble finding the option to do so, all you have to do is follow our step-by-step tutorials below.

On your computer:
  1. Launch Discord on your desktop or visit its web browser app and sign in to your account.
  2. At the bottom-left part of your screen, click the gear icon to access your User Settings.

  3. Make sure that you’re on the My Account Tab under the User Settings section.

  4. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click the Disable Account button under Account Removal.

  5. Once the pop-up appears on your screen, enter your password on the empty field and click Disable Account to finalize your decision.

That’s how you disable your Discord account on the desktop and web app. Please note that other users can still send your friend requests even if you deactivated your account.

On the mobile app:
  1. Tap the hamburger icon on the upper-left side of your screen to open the navigation menu.
  2. At the bottom right part of the page, tap your profile icon to open your User Settings.

  3. Tap My Account under the User Settings section.

  4. Scroll down and select Disable Account under Account Management.

  5. Enter your password and tap Disable to confirm your decision.

After disabling your account, Discord automatically signs you out of the app. In addition, you won’t receive notifications when someone mentions you in text channels or direct messages.

In case you change your mind, you can reactivate your account by signing back into Discord. When you do, you’ll recover all your data, including messages, server memberships, and friends lists.

If you plan to say goodbye to Discord, you can choose to delete your account instead of disabling it. However, please note that this option is irreversible, and you’ll lose all your data forever.

To sum it all up

You can find the option to disable your Discord account by navigating to User Settings > My Account and locating the Account Removal (or Management) section. Once you successfully deactivate your account, you won’t receive notifications from the app.

Always remember that you can only disable your account once you don’t have any servers that you own. If you have one, you need to delete it or transfer its ownership to another user before you can continue.

That’s all from us! If you want to see more tips, tricks, and tutorials, visit us regularly for our latest posts and updates.