How To Delete Your WhatsApp Account
Last Updated: May 1, 2021
Are you planning to leave WhatsApp for good? Do you want to permanently delete your account to erase your data on the platform? If so, we have here a guide for you. We’ll show you how to delete your WhatsApp account permanently. Whether you’re using the iOS or Android app, we have a step-by-step tutorial for you.
If you are one of them, you might want to transfer your chat history or erase it before leaving the app for good. When you delete your account, WhatsApp permanently erases all your data after some time passes.
With that in mind, we created a guide to help you navigate through your Settings and delete your account. Once you have your phone ready, you can go ahead and get started.
How to permanently delete your account on WhatsApp
If you finally decided to leave WhatsApp for good, you can choose to delete your account. When you do, you’ll lose all data associated with your account permanently.
You can delete your WhatsApp account manually on your Account Settings on the mobile app. Follow our quick step-by-step tutorials below to learn how.
- Launch WhatsApp and sign in to your account.
- Tap More options at the upper-right corner of your screen and select Settings from the menu.
- Open your Account options.
- Tap Delete my account.
- Choose your county and enter your phone number on the appropriate field.
- Tap the red “Delete my account” button.
- You can leave a reason for deleting your account before tapping the delete button at the bottom of the screen to confirm your decision.
That’s how you delete your account on WhatsApp for Android. Always remember that this option is irreversible, meaning that you can’t recover your data, even if you deleted your account by accident.
Deleting your WhatsApp account on iOS is pretty much the same as the process on Android. However, there are slight differences in the interface between the two devices.
- Open WhatsApp on your device and sign in to your account.
- At the bottom-right corner of your screen, access your Settings.
- Go to your Account options and select “Delete My Account.”
- Enter your country, phone number, and select the red delete account option.
- You can add feedback before continuing and confirming your decision.
Once you delete your account, it might take some time before WhatsApp completely removes your data from their system. Although that’s the case, you can’t access or recover this information in any way.
To wrap it all up
Now that you know how to delete your account on WhatsApp, you can go ahead and leave the messaging service for good. Before you do, you might want to save the chat history if you ever need it in the future.
You can also choose to transfer your messages and other data to Telegram if that’s the alternative app you prefer to use. In this way, you won’t lose your chat history when you change your primary messaging service.
That’s all from us! For more tips, tricks, and tutorials, hit the bookmark button, and visit us regularly for our daily posts and updates.