How To Delete Your Steam Account
Last Updated: July 18, 2021
There are a lot of reasons why people might want to delete their Steam account. Some find the app distracting them from their work or personal life, while others want to remove their personal information from the platform. Whichever the case, we’re here to offer our help. In our guide below, we’ll show you how to request support for Steam to delete your account.
Although Steam is one of the best online gaming platforms out there, we understand that it’s not for everyone. Some might prefer other apps like GOG or Epic Games, while others find it distracting when they’re at work.
With that in mind, you always have the option to delete your account if you decided to leave the platform for good. However, in doing so, you’ll permanently lose all your data on the gaming platform, including your games, purchases, profile, achievements, wallet funds, and other information.
While the process removes your personal information from the platform, Steam won’t delete some of the content you posted in the community. All the discussions, posts, and comments on other people’s profiles will remain there.
Nevertheless, you can contact Steam Support to delete your account. In our guide below, we’ll teach you how to do it from your favorite web browser.
How to permanently delete your account in Steam
If you’re thinking of leaving Steam for good, you can opt to delete your account on the platform. However, keep in mind doing so will not refund any of your purchases on the app. Also, you’ll lose access to your Steam wallet balance a
You can delete your account by requesting support from Steam. Follow our quick tutorial below to learn how.
- Using your preferred web browser, visit Steam and log in to your account.
- Click your display name on the top-left side of the screen and select “Account details” from the drop-down menu.
- Scroll down at the end of the Account details tab and click “Delete my Steam account.”
- Read the instructions, warnings, and click “Proceed to account deletion” at the bottom of the page.
- Fill up the form to confirm your identity and click the Send button to send your request.
After submitting the form, Steam Support will respond to your request and verify your identity. When everything is confirmed, Steam locks your account for 30 days and permanently deletes it afterward.
During this time, you won’t be able to play games with VAC servers with your account. Purchases will not be available as well.
When Steam permanently deletes your account, you’ll lose access to all your games, purchases, items, and wallet funds forever. There’s no way to recover them when that happens.
If you ever change your mind, you can log in back to Steam and cancel your request to delete your account. However, this is only possible within 30 days after sending your request.
To wrap it all up
Now that you know how to delete your account on Steam, you can finally leave the gaming platform for good without worrying about leaving your personal data behind. While some of your posts, comments, and contents will remain, the app removes all the other data.
However, always remember that you’ll lose all your games and purchases forever after Steam permanently deletes your account. So if you ever change your mind, you can log in back to Steam on your web browser and cancel your request within 30 days after sending it.
That’s everything we have on us! If you want to read more tips, tricks, and tutorials, visit us frequently and check our daily posts and updates.