How To Delete Your Spotify Account

Have you decided to leave Spotify and move to other music streaming platforms out there? Or do you have no use for the app anymore? Either way, you can choose to close your account on the platform and delete all data associated with it. Follow our quick guide below to learn how.


Tutorial

Before we go into our guide about deleting your account on Spotify, there are a few things you should know. Also, there’s no need to delete your account to remove your premium subscription. You can cancel your paid plan and use Spotify for free.

When you delete your Spotify account, you can’t use your username on the platform when you create a new account. However, you can create one using the same email address after some time.

Whether you want to start anew with a new account or leave Spotify forever, don’t worry, we got you covered. Here’s how to delete your account on the platform.

How to delete your account on Spotify

If you decided to leave Spotify for good, you can choose to terminate your account. When you do, you’ll lose all your playlists, your artist subscriptions, and other data.

Before we start with our tutorial, please note that only Spotify Free users can delete their accounts. So if you currently have a premium plan, you must cancel it first and terminate your account afterward.

If you’re sure that you’re using Spotify Free, follow our step-by-step tutorial below to delete your account.

  1. Using your preferred web browser, visit Spotify and log in to your account.
  2. Open the Spotify Support page and select the Account category.

  3. Among the topics displayed on your screen, click “I want to close my account.”

  4. Scroll down and click the “Close account” button to start the process.

  5. Spotify will ask you a few questions to make sure that you want to delete your account. Follow the steps on your screen and click Continue or “Close account” until you reach the page on the screenshot below.

  6. Check your inbox for an email from Spotify and click the “Close My Account” button on the message to confirm your decision.

That’s how you delete your account on Spotify. Please note that the confirmation email is only valid for 24 hours. When you missed the chance to close your account, you’ll need to go through the steps above again.

If you ever change your mind, you have seven days to reactivate your account. You’ll receive the instructions and the link you need through email, so check your inbox.

On the other hand, you’re always welcome to create a new account on the platform any time you want. But if you prefer to use the same email, you’ll need to wait for 14 days after you close your account.

To wrap things up

Now that you know how to delete your Spotify account, you can now leave the streaming service for good without worrying about your data on the app. When you do, you’ll lose all your playlists, artist subscriptions, followers, and following on the platform.

Please note that you only have two weeks to reactivate your account after closing it. After that period, there’s no way to recover your data. However, you can always create a new account on the app with the same email address.

That’s it! For more tips, tricks, and tutorials, visit us regularly and check our daily posts and updates.

Featured Image