How To Delete Your Direct Messages On Instagram
Last Updated: March 13, 2022
Do you want to clean up your existing chats and delete the ones you no longer need on Instagram? Or do you want to delete the chat history of some of your inactive conversations? In any case, you can delete chats on the app. Follow our quick guide below, and we’ll show you how.
Whenever you or someone starts a conversation on Instagram, all your messages stay on the chat. You can check all the interactions within the conversation whenever you want.
However, we understand that some of you prefer to delete their chats from time to time. Thankfully, Instagram allows you to delete one conversation at a time.
Here’s how to delete your conversations on Instagram.
How to delete your chats on Instagram
If you no longer need a message history from one of your friends or followers on Instagram, you can delete the chat. When you delete a chat, there’s no way to recover the lost messages, images, and other files within the conversation.
You can delete your chats whether you’re using the Instagram web client or mobile app. Check our tutorials below, and we’ll cover the steps you should know.
On your phone:
- Launch Instagram from your home screen or app drawer and sign in to your account.
- Tap the messages icon on the top right corner of the app to view all your chats.
- Tap and hold onto the conversation that you want to delete until the options appear on your screen.
- On the menu at the bottom, select the “Delete” option.
- Tap “Delete” on the pop-up window to confirm your decision.
That’s how you delete conversations on your Instagram account. Always remember that there’s no way to recover deleted conversations once you confirm your decision.
On the Instagram web app:
- After signing in to your account, click the messages icon on the upper right side of the screen.
- Open the conversation you want to delete and click the information icon on the right side of the header.
- Once the chat details appear, select “Delete Chat” and confirm your decision.
Deleting the chat on Instagram only erases the messages, files, and other information on your side of the conversation. Also, blocking someone on the app doesn’t delete the chat history automatically.
Please note that there is no group delete option on Instagram. You’ll need to delete conversations one by one.
To wrap it all up
Now that you know how to delete chats on Instagram, you can erase the conversations you no longer need on the app. In this way, you can keep your chats list free of unwanted chats from some of your followers.
That’s everything we have on our guide! For more tips and tutorials, visit our page frequently, and read our daily posts and updates.