How To Delete Someone’s Profile Information On Slack
Last Updated: August 4, 2022
Do you no longer need someone’s profile on Slack? Do you want to remove their information from your workspace? If so, you can delete their profile as the primary owner. Check our quick guide below, and we’ll teach you how to manage members and remove profiles on Slack.
When someone joins as a member of your workspace on Slack, they’ll have their own profile unique to your workspace. Their profile contains their name, email, phone number, and other information on your workspace.
If someone leaves your company, you can deactivate their account as the primary owner. Deactivating an account prevents the user from accessing your workspace, but the owner can still view the person’s information on the app.
To make sure that there’s no information left from someone’s account on your workspace, you can delete their profile as the owner. Here’s our guide below to learn how.
How to delete a former workspace member’s profile information on Slack
If you want to respect former workspace members’ privacy preferences, you can delete their profile information from your workspace. As long as you’re the primary owner, you can remove profile information from deactivated accounts whenever you want.
You can delete someone’s profile information from the Slack web or desktop app. Follow our tutorial below, and we’ll show you how to do so.
On your computer:
- Launch the Slack web or desktop app and sign in to your account.
- Click the workspace name on the top left side of the app.
- Hover your mouse pointer to “Settings & administration” and select “Manage members” from the menu.
- Browse the list and click More options (three dots icon) on one of the members.
- Select the “Delete profile” option from the menu.
- Make sure that you understand the consequences of your decision and click “Delete Profile” to confirm.
Please note that only primary owners have permission to delete someone’s profile information on Slack. Also, you can only delete profile information from deactivated accounts on your workspace.
Once you delete someone’s profile information from your workspace, there’s no turning back. You can’t recover anything from a deleted profile on Slack.
If you’re using the Slack app on your phone, you won’t find the option to manage or delete someone’s profile information. You’ll need to open the web or desktop app to access your admin options.
To wrap it all up
When you delete someone’s profile on Slack, all their information within your workspace will disappear except the messages and files they’ve sent. Names of deleted profiles will appear as deactivated users on the chats and channels on the app.
That’s it! For more tips and tutorials, visit our page frequently, and read our latest posts and updates.