How To Delete Channels On Zoom
Last Updated: March 1, 2022
Do you no longer need your messages, files, and other information from one of your channels on Zoom? Do you want to delete the conversation as the channel owner? If that’s a yes, follow our step-by-step guide below. We’ll show you how to delete channels from the Zoom desktop and mobile app.
In Zoom, users can create channels to host group conversations with their friends and other contacts on the app. With the help of this feature, people can start discussions outside of meetings while sharing messages, files, and other information within the conversation.
While some channels can stay active for a long time, there might be a few that you no longer use on Zoom. If you don’t need to keep the message history, files, and other information within the conversation, you have the option to delete it.
Here’s our guide about deleting Zoom channels.
How to delete your channels on Zoom
If you no longer need one of your channels on Zoom, you can delete it from your chats. When you delete a channel, you’ll permanently lose all messages, files, and other information within the conversation.
You can delete channels whether you’re using Zoom on your phone or computer. In our quick tutorials below, we’ll cover the steps of deleting channels from both devices.
On your computer:
- Open the Zoom desktop app and sign in to your account.
- Click “Chats” among the options at the top of the app.
- Hover your mouse pointer to the channel you want to delete and click the drop-down arrow.
- On the menu that appears on your screen, select the “Delete Channel” option.
- Click the “Delete Channel” button on the pop-up window to confirm your decision.
That’s how you delete channels on the Zoom desktop app. Once you confirm your decision, there’s no way to recover the lost messages, files, and other information within the conversation.
On the Zoom app for Android:
- After opening the app and signing in to your account, tap “Meet & Chat” at the bottom of your screen.
- Open the channel that you want to delete and tap the information icon on the right side of the conversation header.
- At the bottom of the channel information page, select “More options.”
- Select the “Delete Channel” option at the bottom of the current page.
- Tap “Continue Delete” on the pop-up window to confirm your decision.
Please note that only channel owners have permission to delete a channel. If you can’t see the option to delete the conversation, you can opt to leave it instead.
To wrap things up
Now that you know how to delete channels you own on Zoom, you can remove the ones you no longer use from your chats list. In this way, you can keep your groups and chats organized for future use.
That’s all! For more tips, tricks, and tutorials from us, visit our page frequently and read our latest posts and updates.