How To Delete A Workspace On Slack

Do you have no use for your workspace Slack anymore? Do you want to delete all your messages, files, and other data on your inactive workspace? If that’s the case, we have here a guide for you. We’ll show you how to delete one of your workspaces on Slack.


Tutorial

In Slack, users can join or create multiple workspaces with a single email address. Each workspace on the platform can represent a different project or work-related space.

These workspaces can contain a lot of different channels, which the members can use to message other users or share files. As such, Slack is a useful tool if you want to collaborate with your team online about projects and businesses.

However, every project will eventually come to an end in the future. Whether you finish everything you need to do or you want to discontinue your work, you can choose to erase whatever data you have on your Slack workspace.

With that in mind, here’s our guide on how to permanently shut down your workspace on Slack.

How to delete your Slack workspace

If you have no use for your Slack workspace anymore, you can opt to delete it from your account. By doing so, you’ll permanently erase all messages, files, and data on your workspace.

Unfortunately, you can’t delete a Slack workspace on their mobile app. You can only do it on Slack on the desktop and web app. Follow our step-by-step tutorial below to learn how.

  1. Launch the Slack desktop app or open their web browser client and sign in to your workspace.
  2. Click your workspace’s name on the upper-left corner of the screen.

  3. Hover your pointer to “Settings & administration” and click “Workspace settings.”

  4. Scroll down to the bottom of the Settings section and click the “Delete Workspace” option.

  5. Confirm the deletion, enter your current password, and click “Yes, delete my workspace.”

Like we mentioned earlier, you’ll permanently lose all data on your workspace, including messages and files, once you delete it. As such, we recommend that you export your channels to save a copy if you ever need them in the future.

Always remember that only the Primary Owner can delete a workspace on Slack. If you don’t see a deletion option on your workspace settings, consider contacting the owner for help.

Erasing your data on Slack

Now that you know how to delete your workspace on Slack, you can go ahead and erase all messages and files shared on your channels. In this way, you can leave Slack without worrying about other members accessing the workspace even if you ended the project.

If you only mean to change the workspace name or URL, there’s no need to delete it completely and start over. You can navigate to Settings & administration > Workspace settings and find the option there to do so.

That’s everything we have on our guide! If you want to read more tips, tricks, and tutorials, visit us frequently, and check our daily posts and updates.