How To Delete A Team In Microsoft Teams
Last Updated: September 20, 2021
Do you have no use for a team on your Microsoft Teams org anymore? Is there no need for you to keep the channels, conversation, or files on the team? If that’s the case, you have the option to delete it from your organization. In our quick guide below, we’ll show you how to delete one of your teams on a Microsoft Teams Free account.
In Microsoft Teams, you can divide your org into different teams. Each team can consist of multiple channels where people can share files and information with other members.
Each account can create up to 250 teams, so there’s no need to worry about having enough space for your org members. However, having a lot of teams can distract you from finding the active ones on your Teams organization.
Thankfully, you can always delete a team you no longer use on Microsoft Teams. When you delete one on your Free account, you’ll lose all data within it permanently.
If deleting a team is what you need in your organization right now, follow our quick guide below, and we’ll teach you everything you need to know. Without further ado, let’s get started.
Deleting a team in Microsoft Teams Free
If you no longer need a team in your organization, you have the option to delete it. When you do opt to do so, you’ll erase all channels, files, conversations, and the Microsoft 365 group for the team.
You can delete a team whether you’re using Microsoft Teams on your computer or mobile device. With that in mind, here are our tutorials about deleting teams on both.
Note: We used the Microsoft Teams free version in our tutorials below.
On your computer:
- Open the Microsoft Teams desktop app or visit their web browser client and sign in to your account and organization.
- Click Teams on the left sidebar.
- Click More options (three dots icon) beside the team you want to delete.
- Click “Delete the team” at the bottom of the options menu.
- Once the prompt appears on your screen, select the checkbox on the window and click the “Delete team” to confirm your decision.
Deleting a team on a free account permanently removes it from your organization. There’s no way to recover the channels, conversations, and files on the deleted team.
If you’re a Microsoft Teams administrator on a work or school account, you can access the admin center and delete teams from there. If you ever change your mind, you can recover the deleted team within 30 days.
On your phone:
- Open the Microsoft Teams mobile app, sign in to your account, and select an organization.
- Tap Teams at the bottom of the app.
- Tap More options (three dots icon) beside the team you want to delete.
- Tap “Delete team” at the bottom of the options menu.
- Tap Delete to confirm your decision.
That’s how you delete a team on the Microsoft Team free plan. Like we mentioned earlier, administrators of paid plans can use the admin center to manage all teams in their organization in one place.
To wrap things up
Now that you know how to delete a team on Microsoft Teams, you can go ahead and remove the ones you no longer use in your organization. When you use this option on your Teams Free account, you’ll permanently erase all data within the team.
If you can’t delete a team on your org, contact the owner or one of the administrators. They have the authority to restrict other members from using this option.
That’s everything we have on our guide! For more tutorials, visit our site regularly, and don’t forget to check our posts and updates daily.