How To Delete A Space In Google Chats
Last Updated: May 13, 2022
Do you no longer need one of the spaces you created on Google Chats? Do you want to erase the messages and tasks within the space for all the members of the conversation? If that’s the case, you can delete the space as its creator. Check our guide below, and we’ll show you the steps to do so.
Spaces on Google Chats act as a place where people can share files, allocate tasks, and connect with other people on their team or work. Users can use these spaces for long-term projects where people can assign tasks.
As the creator of a space, you have permission to delete it whenever you want. When you delete a space you own, you’ll all tasks, files, and other data within it permanently.
Here’s our guide about deleting a space on Google Chats.
How to delete one of your spaces in Google Chats
If you don’t need one of your spaces in Google Chats anymore, you have the option to delete it for all its members. As long as you’re the creator, you can delete the space whenever you want.
You can delete spaces on Google Chats whether you’re using the app on your phone or browser. In our tutorials below, we’ll cover the steps to do it on both.
On your phone:
- Launch Chats from your home screen or app drawer and sign in to your account.
- Tap “Spaces” at the bottom of the app and open the space that you want to delete.
- Tap the space name on the conversation header.
- Find and select the Delete option.
- Tap “Delete” on the pop-up window to confirm your decision.
When you delete a space on Chats, you’ll erase all the messages, tasks, and other data within the conversation. There’s no way to undo your decision once you hit the confirmation button.
On your desktop:
- Open your favorite browser, visit the Google Chats web client, and sign in to your account.
- Select the space you want to delete from the Spaces section on the left side of your screen. If you can’t see the menu, click the hamburger icon on the top left corner.
- Click the space name on the conversation header.
- Select the “Delete this space” option on the menu.
- Click “Delete” on the pop-up window to completely delete the space.
You can only delete a space if you’re the one who created it. If that’s not the case, you always have the option to leave the space whenever you want.
To wrap it all up
Now that you know how to delete a space on Google Chats, you can erase the ones you no longer use on the app. If you don’t want to delete the tasks, files, and other data within a space, you have the option to leave it instead.
After leaving a space, you can always come back when you need to check something or get a file within the conversation.
That’s everything we have on us! For more tips and tutorials from us, check our page and read our latest posts and updates.