How To Delete A Project In Asana
Last Updated: January 19, 2022
Do you no longer wish to continue a project in Asana? Do you want to remove it from your workspace instead of archiving it for future use? If so, you can delete it if you have permission to do so. Follow our guide below, and we’ll show you how.
In Asana, you can start multiple projects whenever you want. Each project can have a different goal or purpose for your organization.
As time passes, there might be projects that you no longer wish to continue. When that happens, you have the option to archive the project or delete them entirely.
When you delete a project, you’ll lose all data within it, including unassigned tasks to your workspace members. On the other hand, you can archive the project instead, hiding it from your other active ones.
Here’s our guide about deleting projects in Asana.
How to delete one of your projects in Asana
If you no longer wish to continue one of your projects in Asana, you can opt to delete it. In this way, you and your team can focus on active projects within your workspace.
You can delete projects whether you’re using Asana on your computer or phone. Check our quick tutorials below, and we’ll cover the steps you need to know.
On your computer:
- Open the Asana desktop app or web browser client and sign in to your account.
- Select one of your projects from the navigation bar located at the left side of your screen.
- Click the drop-down arrow beside the project’s name.
- On the menu that appears, select “Delete project.”
- Once the pop-up window appears on your screen, select the “Delete” option to confirm your decision.
That’s how you delete projects on the Asana web and desktop app. Deleting a project removes all the data within it, including unassigned tasks, rules, templates, and custom fields.
You’ll receive a link through email that you can use to undo your decision. So if you ever change your mind, always remember that the undelete link lasts for seven days after the project deletion.
On the Asana mobile app:
- Head to the Home tab and open the project that you want to delete.
- Tap the three-dots icon on the top right corner of the project page.
- Tap “Delete project” among the options at the bottom of your screen.
- Tap Delete on the pop-up window that appears on your screen to confirm your decision.
As we mentioned earlier, you’ll receive an undo link through your email that’s connected with your Asana account. You have seven days to make a decision as to whether undelete a project or you’ll lose it entirely.
To wrap things up
Now that you know how to delete projects in Asana, you can remove the ones you no longer need from your workspace. On the other hand, you have the option to archive a project instead, hiding it from your active workspaces without deleting its contents.
That’s everything we have on us! For more tips and tutorials, visit our page regularly and read our latest posts and updates.