How To Delete A Message On Skype
Last Updated: February 12, 2022
Did you accidentally send a message to the wrong conversation on Skype? Or do you want to delete instant messages for everyone within the chat? In any case, you have the option to remove messages you sent on your Skype conversations. In our quick guide below, we’ll show you how.
No matter how careful we are, there are times when we make mistakes due to different reasons. That also applies when communicating with other people on messaging apps online.
Thankfully, Skype allows you to remove instant messages you send to your group and one-on-one conversation. This feature allows you to delete your messages for everyone participating in the chat.
After removing your message from the conversation, it is no longer visible to everyone within the conversation. As such, you can delete the message you accidentally sent to the wrong chat or the ones with typos.
Here’s our guide about removing messages on Skype.
How to delete an instant message on Skype
If you accidentally sent a message to the wrong person or group chat on Skype, you can delete it from the conversation. Once you delete an instant message you sent, no other participant can view it in the future.
You can delete instant messages on your Skype conversations, whether you’re on your phone or computer. Check our tutorials below for the steps to do so.
On your computer:
- Open Skype on your desktop or web browser and sign in to your account.
- Go to the conversation where you want to delete a message.
- Right-click on one of the messages you sent and select the “Remove” option from the menu.
- Once the pop-up appears on your screen, select “Remove” to confirm your decision.
That’s how you remove messages on the Skype desktop app. Removing an instant message deletes it for everyone participating in the chat.
Please note that you can only delete messages that you sent on Skype. You can’t remove the ones sent by other users and system messages.
On the Skype mobile app:
- Open the conversation where you want to delete an instant message.
- Tap and hold into the message that you want to delete.
- Once the menu appears, select the “Remove message” option.
- Tap the Remove option on the pop-up window to confirm your decision.
You can delete messages you sent whether you’re in a one-on-one or group conversation. Once you remove a message from the chat, there’s no way to undo your decision.
As we mentioned earlier, you can only remove messages that you sent on Skype. There’s no way to delete system messages and ones sent by other users on your group or one-on-one conversations.
To wrap things up
Now that you know how to delete instant messages on Skype, you can remove the ones you sent with typos or mistakes. In this way, you can immediately fix your mistakes before more people check the conversation.
That’s it! If you want more tips and tutorials from us, visit our page from time to time and read our latest posts and updates.