How To Delete A Message For Everyone On WhatsApp
Last Updated: August 19, 2021
Did you accidentally send a message to the wrong conversation on WhatsApp? Are you thinking of deleting it to prevent further complications? If that’s the case, we’re here to help you. In our guide below, we’ll show you how to delete a message for all the chat participants on your WhatsApp chat.
No matter how careful we are, we all make mistakes from time to time. There are times when people accidentally send messages to the wrong group or personal conversation online due to various factors.
Thankfully, WhatsApp allows you to delete recently sent messages for everyone in your conversation. As such, you can remove wrongly sent messages from the chat to avoid further embarrassment.
If you’re having trouble finding the option to delete a message for everyone, don’t worry, we got you covered. We’ll show you everything you need to know about using this feature on your WhatsApp chats.
Without further ado, let’s get started.
How to delete a message for all chat participants on WhatsApp
When you accidentally sent a message to the wrong group or private chat, you have the option to delete it for everyone. If you do it fast enough, you can remove the message before any other participant sees it.
You can delete a message for everyone, whether you’re using WhatsApp on your computer or mobile device. Follow our step-by-step tutorials below, and we’ll show you how to do it from both.
On your Android device:
- Launch WhatsApp from your home screen or app drawer and sign in to your account.
- Open one of your group or private chats which contains the message you want to delete.
- Tap and hold to on one of the messages you sent and tap the Delete icon on the top of your screen.
- Tap Delete for Everyone.
When you successfully deleted a message for everyone, the other participants will see “This message was deleted” instead of your original message. However, the recipients might see your message before you remove it from the chat.
To ensure the message deletion for everyone, you and the other chat participants must have the latest WhatsApp version. With that in mind, please note that WhatsApp doesn’t notify you if it fails to remove the message for everyone on the chat.
On your computer:
- Launch the WhatsApp desktop app or visit their web browser client and connect your account.
- Open one of your private or group conversations where you want to delete a message.
- Hover on the message you want to delete and click the drop-down arrow.
- Once the menu appears, select “Delete message.”
- Click “Delete for Everyone.”
Please note that you can only delete messages for everyone within an hour after sending them. Aside from that, you and the recipients must have the latest version of WhatsApp for your request to be successful.
Be careful when deleting messages you sent on your chats. You don’t want to accidentally delete it only for yourself when you mean to do it for everyone. You can’t delete one that you can’t see in your conversation.
Lastly, deleting messages for everyone only works on messages you sent in a conversation. You can’t use the feature on the ones sent by other people in the conversation.
Wrapping things up
With the help of the “Delete for Everyone” feature on WhatsApp, you can remove messages you accidentally sent to the wrong conversation. However, keep in mind that you only have one hour to do so. Once that time limit passes, you can no longer use the feature.
Remember, clearing the chat doesn’t delete its contents for everyone on the conversation as it only deletes the history on your end. As such, the only way to “unsend” a message on WhatsApp is by deleting it for everyone.
That’s all we have to say! For more tips, tricks, and tutorials about different stuff, visit our page regularly and read our daily posts and updates.