How To Delete A Conversation On Messenger
Last Updated: September 14, 2021
Do you want to delete a chat that you no longer use on Messenger? Do you have no use for the messages and files shared on the conversation anymore? If that’s the case, you can opt to delete the chat from your account. Erasing the chat removes all the messages and other data from the group or private conversation permanently. Follow our quick guide below to learn how.
Without a doubt, Facebook Messenger is one of the most popular messaging apps that people use today. You can use it to message, call, and share files with your friends and contacts on the app.
As time passes, you might have some chats that you no longer use to message other users. Although there’s no harm in leaving them on your chats list, some people find it distracting when browsing other conversations.
Thankfully, the app allows its users to erase an entire chat from their account anytime they want. With that in mind, here’s our guide about deleting a conversation on Messenger.
How to delete all messages from a group or private chat on Messenger
If you no longer need your message history from a group or private chat on Messenger, you can opt to delete the conversation on your account. In this way, you can organize your chats list and remove the inactive conversations from your account.
You can delete a conversation on Messenger from your phone or computer. Check our quick tutorials below, and we’ll show you the steps in doing so.
On your computer:
- Using your preferred web browser, visit the Messenger web client and sign in to your account.
- Hover on the group or private chat you want to delete and click More options (three dots icon).
- On the menu that appears on your screen, click “Delete Chat.”
That’s how you delete an entire conversation on Messenger. Please note that doing so removes it from your chats list permanently. There’s no way to recover lost messages and files on your end.
Please note that you can also delete a conversation on Messenger while using Facebook. To do so, click the drop-down arrow beside the person’s name on the chat window and select “Delete Chat” on the menu.
On your Android phone:
- Open the Messenger mobile app and make sure to sign in to your account.
- Tap and hold on to the chat you want to delete until the options appear on your screen.
- Tap Delete on the menu.
Always remember that deleting the chat only deletes the files and messages on your end. The conversation is still available to everyone participating in the chat until they remove it from their account.
If you don’t want to lose any data from the conversation, you can archive the chat instead. In this way, you can hide the conversation from your chats list until you receive or send a new message.
Erase conversations you no longer use in Messenger
Now that you know how to delete your chats in Messenger, you can permanently delete conversations that you no longer use. Using this option erases all the messages and files on your end of the chat.
That’s all we have on our guide! For more tips and tutorials, visit our site regularly, and read our daily posts or updates.