How To Delete A Channel On Microsoft Teams
Last Updated: June 20, 2022
Do you have a channel that people no longer use on Microsoft Teams? Do you want to remove the channel from your team on the app? If so, you can delete the channel to erase all its contents. In our quick guide below, we’ll show you how to manage and delete your channels on the Teams mobile and desktop app.
In Microsoft Teams, team owners can create channels where other users can exchange messages, files, and other information with other members. As the owner, you have permission to add and remove channels on your team.
If you have a channel that you don’t plan to use in the future, you can delete it from your team on the app. When you delete a channel, you’ll lose the files, messages, and other contents within the conversation.
Here’s our guide about deleting channels on Teams.
How to delete one of your channels on Microsoft Teams
If you have a channel that you no longer need in Teams, you can delete it from the Teams tab. In this way, you can keep the channel list organized by keeping only the ones your team needs.
You can delete a channel on your organization whether you’re using the Teams app on your phone or computer. Follow our step-by-step tutorials below, and we’ll show you how to do so.
On your phone:
- Launch the Microsoft Teams app from your home screen or app drawer and sign in to your account.
- Tap “Teams” at the bottom of your screen to view all your teams and channels.
- Open the channel that you want to delete and tap More options (three dots icon) on the conversation header.
- Select the “Delete channel” option on the menu and confirm your decision.
Owners can freely add and delete channels within their team. They can also choose which users can manage the channels for the other members.
On your computer:
- Open the Teams desktop app or visit their web client and sign in to your organization.
- Head to the Teams tab and browse your channels.
- Hover your mouse pointer to one of your channels, select More options (three dots icon), and select the “Delete this channel” option from the menu.
- Click “Delete” on the pop-up window to confirm your decision.
If you ever change your mind, you can restore the deleted channel on your team. Doing so will recover the lost chat history, as well as the files shared on the channel.
To wrap it all up
Now that you know how to delete channels on Microsoft Teams, you can remove the ones you don’t need in the future. In this way, you can keep the conversations on your team organized by removing the inactive conversations within it.
That’s it! For more tips and tutorials, visit our page regularly, and read our latest posts and updates.