How To Deactivate Your Account In Slack

Are you ready to leave a workspace on Slack for good? Or are you finished working on a project with your team? In any case, we’re here to help you. In our quick guide below, we’ll show you how to deactivate your account on Slack to leave your workspace immediately.


Tutorial

In Slack, users can use one email to handle all their workspaces on the app. However, you’ll need to create separate accounts for each workspace to join them.

If you’re using Slack to communicate with different teams, clients, and businesses, you might want to keep your workspace list updated as possible. Having a lot of inactive workspaces connected to your email address might distract you from working on the active ones.

Thankfully, Slack allows its users to deactivate their accounts any time they want. In this way, they can remove inactive workspaces from cluttering their inbox or email address.

With that in mind, here’s our guide on how to leave your inactive workspaces on Slack.

How to deactivate an account to leave your Slack workspace

If you’re ready to leave a workspace on Slack for good, you can deactivate your account any time you want. However, Primary owners need to transfer the ownership of their workspace before deactivating, or they can choose to delete the workspace instead.

You can deactivate your account from the Slack desktop or web app. Follow our step-by-step tutorial below, and we’ll teach you everything you need to know about it.

Note: If you’re a member of multiple workspaces on Slack, you’ll need to deactivate your account for each one separately.

  1. On your computer, launch Slack or visit their web browser client and sign in to your workspace.
  2. Click your profile icon on the top right side of your screen and select “View profile” on the menu.

  3. Click More (three horizontal dots) and select “Account settings.”

  4. Scroll down and click the “Deactivate your account” button.

  5. If asked, enter your current password and click “Confirm Password.”
  6. Select the “Yes, deactivate my account” option to confirm your decision.

Note: For Enterprise Grid members, you might not see the option to deactivate your account. If that’s the case, contact the owner or some of the admins for help.

After confirming your decision, the deactivation takes effect immediately. If you ever change your mind and want to return to the workspace, you’ll need to ask an admin or the owner to reactivate your account.

Please remember that when you deactivate your account, it won’t delete all messages and files you shared on the workspace. However, owners can allow other members to erase their files before deactivating.

If you want to erase your profile information after deactivating your account, you’ll need to contact the workspace owner. Primary Owners can ask Slack on your behalf to remove your information from the workspace.

To wrap it all up

Now that you know how to deactivate your account on Slack, you can go ahead and leave inactive workspaces for good. In this way, you can focus on your active projects and workspaces with fewer distractions.

If you only mean to change your email address or username on a workspace, there’s no need to deactivate your account. You can edit your account details on Slack whenever you want by navigating to your “Account settings” page.

That’s everything we have on our guide! If you want more tips, tricks, and tutorials, visit our site frequently, and check our daily posts or updates.