How To Deactivate An Asana Account

Asana is one of the most popular project management tools that can help various teams manage their tasks online. While the platform is pretty good, some people find its limited built-in features lacking. If you agree with them, or if you have no use for Asana anymore, you can opt to deactivate your account and remove any connections you have to the platform.


Uncategorized

With its flexible and modern design, a lot of people find Asana as a pretty decent productivity tool for task and workflow management. While some of its features can be quite complex for beginners, you’ll see its worth once you get the hang of it.

The project management tool helps in organizing tasks, deadlines, and setting your priorities. Although it certainly lacks some built-in features like time-tracking, it can integrate with a lot of different apps like Slack, Gmail, and Dropbox, among many others, to help make your task management a lot easier.

Since anyone can create a free account, they can test the limited features of the platform before they choose to avail of one of its premium deals. While some people like its flexibility, others find the platform too complicated, or its pricing as expensive.

So if you’re not a fan of the tool, or you have no use for it anymore, you can deactivate your account to delete all your traces from the platform.

Asana Account Deactivation

There are a lot of reasons why users opt to delete their accounts. Whichever the case, free users can cancel their membership and deactivate their account at any time. Premium users, however, first need to cancel their subscription to downgrade their membership to free.

On desktops:

  1. Open Asana on your web browser and sign-in to your account.
  2. At the top right corner of your screen, select your avatar.

  3. Click “My Profile Settings.”

  4. Go to the Accounts tab and click “Deactivate account.”

  5. Confirm your account deactivation.

Take note that once you cancel your membership, there’s no turning back. You can’t recover the account, and you need to start over to use the services of Asana again.

Although you cant manage your account settings with the Asana app on Android, you can use the Google Chrome mobile browser instead to deactivate your membership.

On Android:

  1. Open Google Chrome and from the options (the three vertical dots at the upper right corner of your screen), enable the desktop view.

  2. Visit Asana and sign-in to your account.
  3. Click your avatar icon and select “My Profile Settings.”

  4. Navigate to the Accounts tab and deactivate your account.

Account deactivation on Asana only affects your account. All workspaces and organizations that have any connection to your account will continue to exist as long as there are any tasks, projects, and members left.

Deactivate Workspaces

If you want to remove all your traces on the platform, you can opt to disable workspaces you own before you deactivate your account. It might sound easy to do this, but there are a couple of things you need to do first.

  1. Delete all tasks and projects.

  2. Remove all members and participants.
  3. Remove yourself from the Workspace by selecting your avatar icon and clicking More > “Remove me from this Workspace.”

Note: If you leave all of your workspaces, your free account will automatically deactivate.

Alternative Tools

While Asana is a pretty flexible and decent project management tool, it isn’t for everyone. Some people find it too complicated to use, or sometimes expensive.

If you’re one of those people, don’t worry, there are a lot of alternatives to Asana out there. You can try Trello, Wrike, Workzone, to name a few. While these tools may have different features from Asana, they are all useful in project and task management.

Last Words

Although Asana is a pretty decent collaboration platform that can help teams manage their tasks, Not everyone shares the same thought. While some think it as useful for their business, others find it complicated or expensive.

Whichever the case, free users can cancel their membership any time they want. All they have to do is head over to account settings and deactivate the account from there.

Once you do this, the account is gone forever, so if you want to use Asana once more, you need to start over. However, Workspaces, ongoing projects, and tasks that still have members will continue to exist.

That’s it! Now that you know how to deactivate your account, you’re free to do so. For more tips, guides, and tricks, bookmark our page and subscribe to our newsletter.