How To Close A DM On Discord

Are you having trouble browsing through your DMs on Discord? Do you want to remove some of the inactive conversations from the direct messages list without deleting their contents? If so, you can close the DM to remove them from your recent messages. Follow our quick guide below, and we’ll show you the things you need to know.


Tutorial

In Discord, your friends and other users in your servers can send your direct messages. This feature allows you to communicate with people without using one of the channels on your mutual servers.

When someone messages you on Discord, the conversation stays on the list of your recent messages. As more people or groups sends you a message, it may fill up the list quickly, giving you a hard time browsing your important chats.

Thankfully, Discord allows you to hide and remove conversations from the list of your recent messages by closing them. Check our guide below to learn how.

How to close direct messages on Discord

If you don’t want some conversations to appear in your Discord’s recent messages, you can close the DM. In this way, you can focus on active conversations that are more important to you.

You can close DMs whether you’re using Discord on your phone or computer. Check our step-by-step tutorials below for the method to do so on both devices.

On your computer:

  1. Open the Discord web or desktop app and sign in to your account.
  2. Browse the Direct Messages section on the home tab and right-click on the conversation that you want to remove from the list.
  3. Once the menu appears, select “Close DM.”

Please note that closing a direct message doesn’t delete the chat’s contents. It only removes the conversation from your Direct Messages list on Discord.

If you want to check a DM that you previously closed, you can use the search bar to open the chat. You can also go to the user’s profile and start a conversation.

On the Discord mobile app:

  1. After opening the app, tap the hamburger icon on the top left side of the current channel and head to the Home tab.
  2. Open the DM that you want to close and tap the icon on the top right corner of the chat header.

  3. Tap More options (three dots icon) on the top right and select “Close DM” from the menu.

That’s how you close DMs on Discord. After closing a conversation, they won’t appear on your Direct messages list anymore. However, you can always open a previously closed chat by using the search bar.

To wrap it all up

Now that you know how to close DMs on Discord, you can remove some conversations from the list of your recent messages so that you can focus on your active chats. In this way, you won’t have any trouble navigating to your favorite conversations with your friends and other people on the app.

That’s everything we have on us! For more tutorials, visit our page frequently, and read our latest posts and updates.