How To Clear Recommendations On Twitch

Recommendations initially seem like a great idea. Figure out what you like and then identify other similar streams or streamers and then highlight those in your feed. You get to enjoy more of what you already watch and other streamers get a little boost in viewers. If the system isn’t working for you this tutorial is going to show you how to clear recommendations on Twitch.


Streaming

Recommendations using a learning algorithm to assess what you watch and spend time on and what streamers you subscribe to. It then identifies other streamers with similar characteristics and shows them to you in recommendations. When it works, it’s great. For me at least it doesn’t work all that often.

Like recommendations in Netflix, my Twitch recommendations seem a mix of the random and the irrelevant. Perhaps one in 8 are streams I would actually want to watch and it seems I’m not the only one if the internet is to be believed.

Clear recommendations on Twitch

You can influence what recommendations you see on Twitch. You have the option to select one and tell Twitch you’re not interested. Like Netflix and other streaming services, this builds up a picture of what you like and what you don’t. In theory, this should offer you more targeted recommendations that you actually might want to see.

Here’s how to clear a recommendation if it isn’t relevant to you:

  1. Select the three dot menu icon in the top right of that recommendation.
  2. Select ‘I am not interested in this recommendation’.

That’s it!

Twitch says it will learn your likes and dislikes and hopefully provide much better recommendations in the future. I don’t know if I have done this too often or not but the recommendations I keep seeing aren’t things I would want to see or for games I have ever watched.

Clear other data from Twitch

Twitch doesn’t collect all that much data about you, just the basics around your viewing habits, games you play, email address, social media accounts and so on. You can control how much of this is collected from within your Twitch dashboard. If you’re an EU citizen, you have a ton of privacy rights and can request copies of everything Twitch has on you and/or requested it all be deleted.

For the rest of us, there are some privacy controls in Twitch. You can access them via the Twitch dashboard.

  • Select your account and then Settings to view your profile information and privacy preferences.
  • Select Security and Privacy to control who can contact you, who can whisper you and consent.
  • Select Notifications to opt out of marketing and non-stream notifications.
  • Select Recommendations to fully control what is recommended and what is not.

Twitch is better than most other social platforms for collecting data and there is no real concern around collection or use of that data that I can find. That said, if you’re careful about what you put out there, you only have two options for removing your digital footprint. Setting up an online persona to use or delete your twitch account.

Online persona to keep data safe

Setting up an online persona is like an author using a nom de guerre. It’s a character you make up complete with name, email, fake address and so on that you use online to keep your real identity safe. It’s a little extreme but I know a couple of journalists that do this so they aren’t treated differently or hounded when online.

All you need to do is come up with a fake name, address, usernames and so on. Set up a backstory, something believable and set up an email address using those details. If you want to create social media accounts, all the better. Then you can use these details to set up a Twitch account. All you need do now is remember to remain in character when online!

Disable your Twitch account

Disabling your Twitch account is not something you should do lightly. While you will be able to reactivate it for a time, you may lose the account and that username if you’re not careful. If that’s something you want to do, here’s how to disable your Twitch account.

  1. Log into Twitch and select Settings from the dropdown menu.
  2. Select the Disabling Your Account text link.
  3. Enter your username and password on the next screen.
  4. Give a reason if you want and select Disable Account.

One black mark against Twitch is that you cannot delete your account, only disable it. Aside from that you’re good to go!