How To Clear A Conversation On Skype
Last Updated: February 11, 2022
Do you want to delete all your messages within a Skype conversation and start over from scratch? Or are you trying to clean up the inactive chats on your account. In any case, you can clear conversations on the app to delete all the messages within the chat. Follow our guide below and we’ll show you how.
In Skype, you can find all your group and one-on-one conversations on your chats list. When you talk to a lot of people on the app, you might find your chats list full of conversations that you no longer use.
With that in mind, you can clear one-on-one conversations on your Skype account. With the help of this feature, you can delete chats that are no longer active or ones you don’t need in the future.
Here’s our guide about clearing chats on Skype.
How to delete a chat on Skype
If you want to clean up your one-on-one conversations on Skype, you can clear the chat. When you do, you’ll delete your copy of the messages within the conversation.
You can clear a conversation whether you’re using Skype on your phone or computer. Follow our quick tutorials below, and we’ll show you how.
On your computer:
- Open the Skype web or desktop app and sign in to your account.
- Right-click on one of the conversations on your chats list.
- Once the menu appears, select “Delete conversation.”
After deleting a conversation, there’s no way to undo your decision. You’ll start with a clear chat when you try to initiate with the person in the previous conversation.
Always remember that clearing a conversation only deletes the messages on your end. It doesn’t affect the chat from the other user’s perspective.
On your mobile device:
- Launch Skype from your home screen or app drawer and sign in to your account.
- Tap and hold to one of the conversations that you want to delete.
- On the menu that appears on your screen, select the “Delete conversation” option.
As we mentioned earlier, you can’t recover deleted conversations on Skype. However, you can hide conversations from your chats list instead of clearing them so that you can check messages when you need them.
To wrap it all up
Now that you know how to clear your conversations on Skype, you can delete the chats that you no longer need to use in the future. In this way, you can keep your chat list neat so that you can focus on the conversations that matter at the moment.
That’s everything we have on our guide! If you want to read more tips and tutorials, visit our page frequently and check our daily posts and updates.