How To Change The Workspace Name On Slack

Do you want to rebrand your company or organization on Slack? How about renaming your workspace or updating your current URL? In Slack, you have the option to do so both as a workspace owner. In our quick guide below, we’ll teach you how to change the name and URL of your workspace on Slack.


Tutorial

When you first created your workspace on Slack, the app asks you to add a name and URL. The name is visible on all menus and headings on your account, while the URL helps other users access your workspace.

As time passes, there might be changes you need to implement to improve your team or company. For example, you can rebrand your org with a new name for a different purpose.

With that in mind, you can updates the name and URL on Slack whenever you want. In this way, you don’t need to scrap your current workspace and delete its contents when adapting to changes within your group or company.

Here’s our guide about changing the workspace name and URL on Slack.

How to change the workspace name and URL on Slack

If you want to rebrand your company with a new name and URL, there’s no need to delete your workspace and start over. You can choose to update them instead as the owner.

Owners can change their workspace’s name and URL from the Slack desktop and web app. Follow our step-by-step tutorials below, and we’ll show you everything you need to know.

  1. On your computer, launch the Slack desktop or web app and sign in to your workspace.
  2. Click your workspace name on the top left side of the screen.

  3. On the menu that appears, click Settings & administration > Workspace settings.

  4. From the Settings tab, scroll down and select the “Change Workspace Name & URL” button.

  5. Rename your workspace and change your current URL.

  6. Once you finish updating your workspace details, click “Save Changes” to confirm your decision.

After updating your workspace name, Slack immediately shows it on the menus and headings on your workspace. Other members can see the updates immediately on their app as well.

When you change your workspace URL, Slack automatically redirects your previous address to your new one. Nevertheless, you should inform all your workspace members about the change since the app sends your old URL to the name pool, which other users can use in the future.

Please note that Enterprise Grid owners can rename and change their org’s URL as well. However, Slack doesn’t automatically redirect old links to the new address.

To wrap it all up

Now that you know how to change your workspace name and URL on Slack, there’s no need for you to create a new workspace with a new name. In this way, you get to retain all your channels, messages, and other workspace data in case you need them in the future.

We recommend that you don’t change your workspace URL frequently on Slack. Although the app redirects old links to new ones automatically, your members might end up trying to access another team when someone uses your previous address for their workspace.

That’s all we have on our guide! For more tips and tutorials, visit us daily, and check our latest posts and updates.