How To Block Someone On Spotify
Last Updated: July 7, 2022
Do you want to hide your listening activity or profile from another user on Spotify? Or do you want to stop them from following your account? In any case, you have the option to block someone on the app. In our step-by-step guide below, we’ll show you how.
By default, your listening activity on Spotify is visible to all your followers on the app. As such, people that follow you can know your recently played songs from your playlists and check the music that you like.
However, we understand that there might be cases where you don’t want to share your listening activity with someone on the app. If that’s the case, you have the option to block the user from viewing or accessing your profile.
With the blocking option on the app, you can still share your listening activity with your followers while preventing a selected few from doing so.
Here’s our guide about blocking someone on Spotify.
How to block another user on Spotify
If you don’t want someone to view your profile or know your listening activity on Spotify, you can block their account on the app. In this way, you won’t need to adjust your privacy settings or start a private session while listening to your favorite songs.
You can block a user from the Spotify web or desktop app. Follow our quick tutorial below to learn how.
- Launch the Spotify desktop app or visit their web client and sign in to your account.
- Visit the profile of the person that you want to block. You can use the search option, check your followers, or view your friends list to do so.
- Click the three dots icon on the profile and select the “Block” option on the menu.
- Click the Block option on the pop-up window to confirm your decision.
When you block someone on Spotify, the person won’t be able to check your profile, view your listening activity, or follow your account. With the help of this feature, you can prevent someone from checking your profile without changing your privacy settings completely.
Unfortunately, there’s no option to block users on the Spotify app for iOS and Android. You’ll need to sign in to the desktop or web client to block other people on the app.
If you want to make sure that no one can see your listening activity, you can change your privacy settings on the app instead of blocking people one by one. You can also start a private session on your account to listen anonymously to your favorite songs.
To wrap it all up
Now that you know how to block someone on Spotify, you can prevent some people from viewing your profile or checking your listening activity on the app. If you ever change your mind, you can always unblock the user whenever you want.
That’s it! For more tips and tutorials, visit our page frequently, and read our latest posts and updates.