How To Block Someone On Skype

Do someone keeps on messaging you on Skype? Do you want to stop receiving messages and calls from one of your contacts on the app? In any case, we’re here to offer our help. In our guide below, we’ll show you how to block your contacts on Skype. Whether you’re using the mobile, desktop, or web app, we got you covered.


Tutorial

While Skype is an excellent tool for communicating online with messages and calls, there are times where you don’t want someone to message you on the platform. Thankfully every user has the right to block others from contacting them.

So if one of your contacts keeps on flooding you with tons of messages and call requests, you can go ahead and block their account. With that in mind, here’s a guide for you.

We’ll show you how to block one of your contacts on Skype. Without further ado, let’s get started.

How to block someone from messaging or calling you on Skype

If you don’t want someone to contact you on Skype, you can choose to block their account from the app. When you do, you won’t receive any messages, calls, or invitations from the individual.

You can find the setting to block a contact by checking their profile page on Skype. If you’re having some trouble locating the option to do so, follow our step-by-step tutorials below.

On the desktop or web app:
  1. On the Chat or Contacts tab, right-click on a contact you want to block and select View Profile. Alternatively, you can click on the user’s name at the top of the chat window.

  2. Once the Profile window appears on your screen, scroll down and click Block contact at the bottom.

  3. On the pop-up that shows up on your screen, click Block to confirm your decision. If you feel that the user abused you in some way, you can choose to report the individual before finally blocking their account.

That’s how you block a contact on the Skype desktop or web app. In addition to preventing someone from messaging or calling you on the platform, the blocked user won’t be able to see your online status as well.

On the mobile app:
  1. On the Chats or Contacts tab, tap and hold on a contact and select View Profile once the pop-up window shows up on your screen.

  2. Scroll down at the bottom of the page and tap Block Contact.

  3. Once the prompt appears on your screen, select the Block option to confirm your decision.

Always remember that once a contact stays blocked unless you choose to undo your decision. During that time, you won’t be able to message or call the user as well.

How to unblock someone on Skype

If you change your mind after blocking a contact on Skype, you can always unblock them on your Contact Settings. Once you do, you’ll receive messages and calls from the user in the future.

On the desktop or web app:
  1. Click your profile icon on the upper-left side of your screen and select Settings under the Manage section. As a shortcut, you can press Ctrl + Comma on your keyboard.

  2. Head to Contacts and select Blocked Contacts.

  3. Click the Unblock button right next to the name of the contact you want to unblock.

On the mobile app:
  1. Tap your profile icon at the top of your screen to open your Profile.

  2. Under the Manage section, tap Settings.

  3. Access your Contacts options and select Blocked Contacts.

  4. Tap the Unblock button next to a user’s name to unblock the contact.

Once you unblock a user, your previous conversation with the person (if you have any) will reappear on your list of chats. You’ll also be able to receive messages and calls from the contact in the future.

To wrap it all up

Now that you know how to block someone on Skype, you can go ahead and stop someone from messaging or calling you on the app. In addition to that, the blocked user won’t be able to see your exact activity status, whether you’re online or not.

That’s everything we have on our guide! If you want to see more tips, tricks, and tutorials, visit us regularly for our daily posts and updates.