How To Archive Lists On Trello
Last Updated: April 5, 2022
Do you want to remove a group of cards from your Trello board? Or do you want to hide an entire list from everyone’s view in the meantime? In any case, you can archive lists that you have on your Trello board. Follow our guide below, and we’ll show you the steps to do so from your phone or web browser.
In Trello, lists act as containers for your cards within a board. With the help of lists, you can organize and group cards depending on their use, importance, or preference.
As you continue working on your project, there might be cards or lists that you no longer need. To help you focus on active and important tasks, you can hide such lists from your Trello board.
Here’s our guide about archiving lists on Trello.
How to archive an entire list on your Trello board
If you want to hide a list that you no longer need on your Trello board, you can archive it anytime you want. In this way, you can remove unwanted cards and activities from your board so that you can focus on active and important tasks.
You can archive lists on your Trello board, whether you’re using the web or mobile app. In our tutorials below, we’ll show you the steps for archiving lists on both Trello apps.
On your phone:
- Open Trello from your home screen or app drawer and sign in to your account.
- Go to the board that you want to manage and browse the lists.
- Tap the three dots icon on one of the lists.
- At the bottom of the menu that appears, select the “Archive list” option.
That’s how you archive lists from the Trello mobile app for Android. You can find all the hidden lists within a board by tapping the three dots icon on the top right corner of the board and selecting the “Archived lists” option from the menu.
On your computer:
- Visit the Trello web client on your preferred web browser and sign in to your account.
- Head to one of your boards and browse its lists.
- Click the three dots icon on the list that you want to hide from the board.
- Click the “Archive this list” option at the bottom of the menu.
Since deletion is permanent on Trello, the app did not include a delete option on lists to prevent accidents. However, there’s a workaround if you truly want to delete a list from your board completely.
You can move all your unwanted lists to an unused board on the app. After moving all the lists that you want to delete, close down the board and delete it afterward.
To wrap it all up
Now that you know how to archive lists, you can go ahead and hide the ones you no longer need on your board. Always remember that you can move unwanted lists to an empty board to close and delete them in the future.
That’s everything we have on our guide! For more tips and tutorials, visit our page frequently, and read our latest posts and updates.