How To Deactive your TikTok Account

People make millions of TikTok videos every day. It is a great way to jump-start a career in a relatively new industry. With millions of active users, TikTok has managed to become one of the most famous social media networks in the world. 


Social Media

If you’ve recently joined the TikTok community, or you are a dedicated user but want to take a break, there is a way you can do it. You can deactivate your TikTok account without deleting it. That’s why we’ve decided to make a guide you can follow. Keep reading to find out all the steps.

How to Deactivate Your Account?

If you want to deactivate your account for a short while, here is how you can do it. Just follow these few simple steps, and you will deactivate your account in no-time.

Step 1

 Go to your profile. Select the settings menu on the top right corner. The settings menu is the “…”. Tap on it, and a new window will pop up. Now, off to the next step.

Step 2

Go to “Privacy and Settings.” That is the second option from the top. This is the option where you can regulate everything you want for your account. One of them is removing your account. Or in this case, deactivating it. Tap on the second option. See the screenshot below. Now, we can move on to the next step.

Step 3

All the way to the bottom of the menu, you will see a couple of words with a very light grey color. See the screenshot below. This is the option for removing your account. But, don’t worry, we will get to the deactivating part first. Now, this option is something you might have missed. The light color doesn’t really pop out. It is easy to miss.

Step 4

Once you press the option for removing your account, TikTok will ask you to add a code. This code will arrive via SMS. To delete or deactivate your account, you have to add your phone number. Without the phone number, you can’t get to the next step.

Now, once you’ve entered your code, you can press on “Continue.”

Step 5

This is the new window that you will see. Here, you can read the instructions. TikTok states that if you confirm your action, your account will be deactivated for a month, or 30 days. While your account is deactivated, your fans will not be able to watch your content. If you don’t restore your account after 30 days, it will be permanently deleted. If you are ready to deactivate your account, press on the “Continue” button down below. 

Step 6

Press on “Delete Account.” That’s it. Now you have deactivated your account.

Note: If you delete your account, you lose everything you’ve made. So, no more videos, no more likes, and no more fans. Deactivating your account is not the same as deleting it. So, you can rest assured that your account will stay safe. 

To retrieve your deactivated account, all you have to do is sign back in. That’s it! Now you know how to deactivate your account! It’s that easy. 

Conclusion

TikTok is one of the most popular apps to use today. But, with this many people using it, you might get overwhelmed with the attention you get. That is why many people deactivate their account. Just to relax a little. If you want to deactivate yours, this guide can help you. Hopefully, you found it helpful.