Can You See Who Blocked You In Discord?

Discord is a social space where millions of like-minded people hang out and share ideas. As we are dealing with people and the internet, there are going to be those who cannot behave properly or manage to interact with others in a suitable way. Which is where blocking comes in. It’s a useful tool for handling the worst of human behavior online, but can you see who blocked you in Discord?


Gaming

Discord has a neat system of blocking, muting and deafening to help control the noise. Blocking is used to stop people sending written messages to you within the app. Muting stops them sending you voice messages and deafening prevents the troublemaker hearing what you have to say. It’s a fairly robust system that does what it can to help you control your server population. It isn’t perfect by any means but it’s what we have.

See who blocked you in Discord

So can you see you blocked you in Discord? Not reliably no. The system is silent. You block someone and they are not notified or alerted but there are ways to find out. Like other social networks, Discord wants everyone to get along but appreciates there may be times when we won’t.

Silent systems like this remove one potential flashpoint. If the person you blocked was alerted that you blocked them, what do you think might happen? At the very least they will try to make something of it on another platform or turn other server members against you. With no alerts there is no evidence and no real basis for taking issue with you. That doesn’t stop some people of course but it should stop most.

The only real ways to see if you have been blocked are:

  • The blocker will disappear from your friends list if they were on it.
  • Find an old message from them that you could react to and try to react. If you cannot react or your phone screen shakes, you’re blocked. If you can react, you’re not.
  • Send a DM to them. If the message goes through, you’re not blocked.

Those are the only reliable ways I know of to see if someone blocked you in Discord or any other social network.

Blocking in Discord

The mechanics of blocking in Discord are pretty good and fairly effective. One common complaint is that the person who you blocked can still see your posts and anything you do on the server. Blocking just means they cannot message you or react to what you post. Most people I know would prefer it if the person you blocked wasn’t able to see what you did online at all.

I think it should work like the ‘blocked messages’ black box you see in Discord when someone you have blocked messages you. Rather than see all your posts in the clear, they should just just a plain dark box instead, or perhaps nothing at all, just not display anything from you on their app.

To block someone in Discord, do this:

  1. Select the username of the person you want to block in the right member list.
  2. Right click their username in the list and select Block.

If you’re on mobile:

  1. Select the server that the user is a member of.
  2. Swipe Left twice until you get to the Member list.
  3. Tap on a username and select the three dots icon.
  4. Select block on a pop-up window.

If you use voice as much as text on Discord, you might want to use deafen as well. In desktop:

  1. Select the username of the person you want to block in the Discord member list.
  2. Right click their name and select Deafen.

In mobile:

  1. Select the username of the person you want to block in the Discord member list.
  2. Tap again on a username until the pop-up window appear and select the Deafen user.

The Deafen setting will automatically mute them too so there’s no need to do anything else. Now you shouldn’t hear anything at all from that person no matter how you use Discord.

You can undo these settings should you work it out with the person you blocked. We all make mistakes, learn from them (hopefully) and move on so if that happens to you and you want to give them another chance, just repeat the steps above and select Unblock, Unmute and so on.

The Discord blocking system is mostly good but does leave all your chats open to viewing by the person you blocked. This is something of an oversight I think and something Discord would do well to tackle.